10 Authors like Sarah J. Maas You Need to Read Right Now

Authors like Sarah J Maas

If you’re new to my blog, there’s one thing you should know about me. I’m a huge fan of Sarah J. Maas. I’ve read all her books and written several articles about her, like my list about books like Throne of Glass. This is a similar article, but highlighting 10 authors like Sarah J. Maas.

My journey that led to the creation of the Internet’s largest YA Fantasy group all began when I wanted to read more SJM, but it just didn’t exist.

I have no doubt that every month more and more people are discovering SJM and, like me, just can’t get enough. If you’re thinking about doing a reread of TOG, check out my Throne of Glass series reading guide.

So if you’ve run out of SJM books and want more, here are the best authors like Sarah J. Maas.

Fantasy authors like Sarah J. Maas

It’s best to break this list down into two sections because SJM writes Fantasy Romance. First, we’ll look at the fantasy authors like Sarah J. Maas.

In my opinion, the best types of romance are enemies to lovers books. And many of these qualify!


Leigh Bardugo Author, authors like Sarah J. Maas
Photo from Amazon

Leigh Bardugo

Leigh Bardugo is the author of the Grishaverse novels. I’ve read the first three, but have no read either of her duology’s as of yet.

There is some romance in her books, but I wouldn’t characterize it as the main focus. Her books are more like Throne of Glass in that regard. The emphasis is on the magic and the world building.

There are three total series in the Grishaverse as of the time of this writing. The first book in each is shown below.


Victoria Aveyard author
Photo from Amazon

Victoria Aveyard

Victoria Aveyard is best known for her Red Queen series which is complete and features 4 total books and a handful of novellas.

It’s a fairly divisive series, with most people enjoying the first book moving on to very mixed opinions thereafter.

I enjoyed them all well enough, though I felt a little disappointed by a lackluster ending. The journey is worth the ride, though, in my opinion. Her new book, Realm Breaker, is set for release in May 2021.


Sabaa Tahir, Authors like Sarah J. Maas
Photo from Amazon

Sabaa Tahir

Sabaa Tahir only has a single series to her name, but her Ember in the Ashes series is now complete and I’m sure something new will be coming along shortly.

Full disclosure, I’ve never read any books by Sabaa Tahir, so I can’t fully speak to her place on a list of authors like Sarah J. Maas, but from everything I’ve heard, she belongs here.


Kristin Cashore Author
Photo from Amazon

Kristin Cashore

Graceling is Kristin Cashore’s most famous book. An amazing story and a really unique magic twist that still ranks it as one of my all time favorite YA Fantasy books.

Each book can basically be read as a standalone. They’re all in the same world, but the feature different characters.


Rae Carson author
Photo from Amazon

Rae Carson

I’ve read the first three books in Rae Carson’s series, A Girl of Fire and Thorns and loved them. The fourth book came out a few years later and I haven’t gone back to read it yet, but it’s high on my TBR.

Girl of Fire and Thorns features a plus-sized heroine and is a favorite among YA fantasy fans looking for main characters that aren’t all thin and beautiful.


Elise Kova authors like Sarah J. Maas
Photo from Amazon

Elise Kova

Elise Kova is an author who belongs in both sections of authors like Sarah J. Maas. Both Fantasy and Romance. So I’ve chosen her last in this section as a transition.

Her primary work, Air Awakens, is a sword and sorcery type book like Throne of Glass. Whereas her latest book, A Deal with the Elf King, gave me “must be older than 18” warnings when I tried to enter for a free copy on Goodreads.

So I take that to mean that it’s quite steamy.

The following books are all Book Ones as she has many series written.


Romance authors like Sarah J. Maas

Keep in mind, the ladies in this section of authors like Sarah J. Maas are still fantasy authors, but they lean toward the romance side of things. Think more books like A Court of Thorns and Roses than Throne of Glass.


Holly Black Authors like Sarah J. Maas
Photo from Amazon

Holly Black

Holly Black is the author of The Cruel Prince. This is another divisive series, and primarily because of the toxic relationship within the book. Those of you that read A Court of Thorns and Roses might see the similarities already.

I’ve personally not read the book, but it gets talked about a lot over at the YA Fantasy Addicts Facebook group.


Photo from Amazon

Ilona Andrews

In full disclosure, I don’t know anything about this author. She pops up as the #2 next to Sarah J. Maas in a search for Fantasy Romance authors.

I’m familiar with her name, I recognize some of her books, but I’ve never read them, and frankly don’t really have a desire to.

But you might like them! Check them out if the look interesting.

These are all Book Ones, and some of the series are rather long. So enjoy.


Photo from Amazon

Karen Marie Moning

This is another author like Sarah J. Maas that I haven’t read, but I did include her book in my list of books like Crescent City.

Both of her series are really long. I’m not sure if they’re complete, but you’ll get a ton of reading time out of them, that’s fore sure.


Photo from Amazon

Amanda Bouchet

The closest I’ve come to reading a book by Amanda Bouchet is buying her book. I do have a copy of A Promise of Fire, and I do intend to read it.

That’s as far as I can speak to her books though. The book is described as a “white-hot fantasy romance that broke all the rules”

She appears to only have two series. The first looks complete. I’m not sure if the second is as it has two books with the most recent being published in early 2020.


Looking for more good books?

You might consider checking out my favorite books like A Court of Thorns and Roses.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.