10 Books Like House of Earth and Blood by Sarah J. Maas

Books Like House of Earth and Blood

If you’re here, you just finished reading Crescent City Book 1 and now you want more books like House of Earth and Blood.

We’re two days post release for Sarah J. Maas’s latest work, House of Earth and Blood. I’m 20 chapters in and loving every minute of it.

It’s a big honking book isn’t it?

I’ve got a long way to go, but I’m already preparing myself to suffer hard from MWS, which stands for a term I call Maas Withdrawal Syndrome.

If you’ve ever experienced MWS you know what I’m talking about. It hits, and it hits hard.

House of Earth and Blood is likely to be no different.

Do you know the best way to get through a bookhangover? Have another book waiting in the winds.

With that in mind (and with the help of my friends over at YA Fantasy Addicts), I’ve cultivated a list of books like House of Earth and Blood (Crescent City) just for you.

To make it easier, I’m going to split this list into Fae books, Angel books, and Shifter books, cause all three of those are present in a big way in Crescent City.

Books like House of Earth and Blood

Fae Books Like House of Earth and Blood

A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas, Books like Throne of Glass, Best YA Fantasy Books

1. A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas

Number of Books: 3
Goodreads Rating: 4.25 – 381,942 ratings – 39,900 reviews

No list of books like House of Earth and Blood would be complete without A Court of Thorns and Roses, Sarah J. Maas’s other series.

She also wrote Throne of Glass, but it’s less similar to Crescent City.

ACOTAR has a more developed Fae society and some pretty hardcore smutty romance.

If I’m being honest, I thought there’d be a lot more of it in House of Earth and Blood. But if you haven’t read A Court of Thorns and Roses yet, this should be your next book before anything else.


Darkfever by Karen Marie Moaning, Books like Crescent City

2. Darkfever by Karen Marie Moaning

Number of Books: 11
Goodreads Rating: 4.10 – 146,207 ratings – 10,048 reviews

When I asked the crew on my Facebook group about books like Crescent City, almost every single person replied with Darkfever by Karen Marie Moaning.

I’ve never read this book.

I’d never even heard of it before it was suggested to me.

It’s seems to be similar to Crescent City in that it’s got a murder mystery involving a real world human who stumbles across the realm of the Fae.

Oh and there appears to be sex.


The Iron King by Julie Kagawa, Books like House of Earth and Blood

3. The Iron King by Julie Kagawa

Number of Books: 8
Goodreads Rating: 3.89 – 180,999 ratings – 11,489 reviews

I’m going to shoot straight with you.

I don’t know if the Iron Fey series is like House of Earth and Blood for a few reasons.

First, I’ve never read The Iron King. Second, Crescent City is unlike any other book I’ve ever read.

You see, I usually stick with sword and sorcery and avoid Urban Fantasy. Not that Crescent City is urban fantasy. It’s an entirely made up world. Just one with cellphones and televisions and pizza.

But Iron Fey might tickle your fancy of books like House of Earth and Blood.


Angel Books like Crescent City

Hush, Hush by Becca Fitzpatrick

4. Hush, Hush by Becca Fitzpatrick

Number of Books: 4
Goodreads Rating: 3.98 – 541,353 ratings – 24,113 reviews

Okay, so I don’t really do angel books. Heck I don’t do shifter books either.

What am I doing reading House of Earth and Blood?

I’m a Maasian. I’ll read anything Sarah J. Maas writes. And I devour it. I don’t think she’s going to turn me into a shifter romance fiend, but I’ll tolerate it for her.

Hush, Hush is by far one of the most popular Angel books available, so I’ve added it to the list.

Don’t ask me how it’s similar to House of Earth and Blood. I don’t know.

The more I write this list, the more unqualified I feel to be writing it.

Just leveling with you! But I’ve done my research, and these books should tick all your boxes.


Daughter of Smoke and Bone by Laini Taylor, Books Like House of Earth and Blood

5. Daughter of Smoke and Bone by Laini Taylor

Number of Books: 3
Goodreads Rating: 4.02 – 290,025 ratings – 28,198 reviews

I already told you I’m not big into angel books, but Daughter of Smoke and Bone is high on my TBR. So many of my friends have given absolutely over-the-top praise for this series.

Men and women alike.

Once again, I’m not sure how it’s similar to House of Earth and Blood, but I can tell you it popped up on a list of angel books and it comes highly praised.

What more do you need?


The Angel Trials Michelle Madow

6. The Angel Trials by Michelle Madow

Number of Books: 7
Goodreads Rating: 4.08 – 1,229 ratings – 129 reviews

Here’s a real hidden gem for you.

The Angel Trials will probably easily be the least known book on this list of books like House of Earth and Blood.

The only thing I can promise you is that this book is an angel book. It came highly recommended on a list of Angel books by Book Riot.

It’s also written by a friend of mine, Michelle Madow. I can assure you Michelle is a fantastic author and very popular in indie circles.

Oh, and there’s a “sexy wolf shifter” in this book too.

Which brings us to the last section of books like Crescent City: Shifters!


Shifter Books like House of Earth and Blood

Magic Bites by Ilona Andrews

7. Magic Bites by Ilona Andrews

Number of Books: 10
Goodreads Rating: 4.07 – 96,120 ratings – 6,562 reviews

As far as shifter books go, Magic Bites sounds really interesting!

Technology in our world has advanced so much that it’s gone too far and has broken some barrier that’s brought magic back into the world.

The trick is, the world keeps going back and forth between tech and magic. When magic is active, you’re security system doesn’t work. But when technology takes over the defensive spell you were using no longer works.

Pretty interesting concept to me!


Cry Wolf by Patricia Briggs

8. Cry Wolf by Patricia Briggs

Number of Books: 5
Goodreads Rating: 4.12 – 82,729 ratings – 3,656 reviews

Cry Wolf is a werewolf book.

And there’s romance.

Werewolf.

Romance.

Werewolf romance.

Hmmmmm….. Its got lots of fans! And a really great overall Goodreads rating. Not sure it’s for me. But you might love it!


Silver Silence Nalini Singh

9. Silver Silence by Nalini Singh

Number of Books: 4
Goodreads Rating: 4.12 – 11,954 ratings – 1,386 reviews

Silver Silence is recommendations from the YA Fantasy Addicts Facebook group for books like House of Earth and Blood.

There’s some romance here. And there’s assassins. And there’s powerful magic.

There’s obviously a shifter.

Multiple Races Books Like Crescent City

Havenfall Book Review Sara Holland, Books Like House of Earth and Blood

10. Havenfall by Sara Holland

Number of Books: 1
Goodreads Rating: 3.83 – 403 ratings – 303 reviews

Havenfall released the same day as Crescent City. So that’s the reason for the low number ratings. I’m sure they’ll improve.

This is only the second book on this list of books like Crescent City that I’ve actually read.

I included it because it’s in modern day with cell phones and cars, etc, but it’s also a single city/town where multiple races cross over into our world.

One of those races is a shift type race, another is an elf type race, and another is a nordic type race. They aren’t called that, but it’s the feeling I get.

There’s a murder mystery going on, and the feral creature that’s on the loose reminds of the demon terrorizing Crescent City.

The only thing you’ll need to be aware of is that romance is not a driving point of Havenfall. It’s there, sort of. But it’s not the main thrust.

You can read my spoiler free review of Havenfall by Sara Holland for more information.

Want more books like Sarah J. Maas?

Here’s a list of 10 books like Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas.

If you enjoyed this post, please share it on Facebook and Pinterest.

Books Like Crescent City Pinterest

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.