20+ Books Like Throne of Glass You Need to Read in 2022

Books Like Throne of Glass

Have you finished Throne of Glass and aren’t quite sure what to read next? But what you do know is that your are most definitely looking for more books like Throne of Glass.

If you loved the Throne of Glass series by Sarah J. Maas as much as I did, then you know the pain of waiting for the next book by Sarah J. Maas.

I call it MWS, Maas Withdrawal Syndrome.

But if you’ve already everything Sarah has to offer, that long wait for the next Sarah J. Maas book is here once again.

While we all wait together, I’ve listed the best books like Throne of Glass below based on Goodreads ratings from least well-known to most well-known.

Best Books like Throne of Glass

Frostblood Books Like Throne of Glass

21. Frostblood by Elly Blake

Number of Books: 3 (Complete Series)
Goodreads Rating: 3.86 – 28,796 ratings

Frostblood is a pretty simple book. It’s not going to rock the boat, make waves, or do anything fantastical you haven’t seen before. But it is a fantastic YA Fantasy that is perfect when you need a good old comfort read that ticks all the boxes.

Frostblood is about a magic wielder who has fire powers in a frost controlled world. She was imprisoned, escapes, teams up with rebels, and ends up fighting in a tournament for the wicked king. Sounds like it belongs in a list of books like Throne of Glass, eh? (No, I’m not Canadian)


Wintersong S Jae Jones

20. Wintersong by S. Jae-Jones

Number of Books: 2 (Complete Series)
Goodreads Rating: 3.54 – 28,965 ratings

I must admit, I don’t know a whole lot about Wintersong. Liesl’s sister is taken by the Goblin King and she goes underground to save her.

The blurb calls it dark, romantic, and powerful. So if that’s something that might interest you, check it out and read the rest of the blurb for yourself.


The Hundredth Queen Emily R King

19. The Hundredth Queen by Emily R. King

Number of Books: 4 (Complete Series)
Goodreads Rating: 3.86 – 29,738 ratings

I devoured all four of these books in a single week back in 2017. They are absolutely fantastic and well deserved to be on a list of Books Like Throne of Glass.

Shortly after I finished reading them, we had the privilege of having Emily R. King come do a live video chat with us in YA Fantasy Addicts on Facebook and I will say it was an absolute delight.

The Hundredth Queen centers around a girl named Kalinda who finds herself suddenly among a tyrant king’s 99 other wives against her will. As if that isn’t enough, there’s a tournament featuring a fight to the death and forbidden magic. What isn’t to like?


Air Awakens Elise Kova

18. Air Awakens by Elise Kova

Number of Books: 5 (Complete Series + A Bunch of Spin-offs)
Goodreads Rating: 4.01 – 37,626 ratings

Air Awakens is the first and only indie book that I’ve listed here. The reason for that is I’ve tried to highlight the more popular books, but maybe another list will soon be incoming.

Indies tend to be cheaper and just as good, if not better in my opinion. So just because you might not have heard of this one, don’t discount it, Elise has a crazy following and lots of people love this series.

A library apprentice, a sorcerer prince, and an unbreakable magic bond. Vhalla has been taught to fear magic. That is until she discovers she has it. Now she must to decide whether to embrace or destroy. I think we know what choice she makes.


Sky in the Deep Books Like Throne of Glass

17. Sky in the Deep by Adrienne Young

Number of Books: 2 (Complete Series)
Goodreads Rating: 3.97 – 46,550 ratings

Adrienne Young is another author we’ve had on our YA Fantasy Addicts group and it was really great getting to chat with her about Sky in the Deep.

The concept for this book is so awesome, and that cover–come on. Gorgeous.  If you love a good sword and sorcery–with VIKINGS–then Sky in the Deep will be your next favorite read.

Eelyn must try to unite the tribes or they’ll be slaughtered one by one.


16. Truthwitch by Susan Dennard

Number of Books: 4 (Incomplete Series)
Goodreads Rating: 3.85 – 49,837 ratings

I absolutely adore Truthwitch. A lot of people don’t like it though. It was billed as YA, but it’s more of an adult fantasy novel. That means that it’s a little slower paced than your used to and it deals with some deeper issues.

But if you give it a shot, I think you’ll love it. I’m always looking for people to talk to about this amazing series. I’ve read all four books plus the novella, Sightwitch. Come join us over at YA Fantasy Addicts and let’s talk!

Safi is a Truthwitch, which means she’s able to tell truth from lies. It seems like a pretty innocuous power, but many would kill to have control of her magic. There’s courts, there’s a reluctant prince–everything a ToG fan wants.


snow like ashes, sara raasch, Books like Throne of Glass

15. Snow Like Ashes by Sara Raasch

Number of Books: 3 (Complete Series)
Goodreads Rating: 3.88 – 66,415 ratings

I recently finished Snow Like Ashes. I wrote a review midway through the novel and my opinions haven’t changed much since completing it. Raasch does a fantastic job keeping you turning the pages, though this sometimes led to my frustration at a lack of answers early on.

Meira is one of eight survivors after her kingdom was destroyed sixteen years ago. Magic is only present through conduits, and can only used by the leaders of the kingdoms.


Girl of Fire and Thorns, Rae Carson

14. Girl of Fire and Thorns by Rae Carson

Number of Books: 4 (Complete Series)
Goodreads Rating: 3.79 – 78,847 ratings

Girl of Fire and Thorns is not my most favorite YA trilogy. However, it bears similarity to Throne of Glass once again for the princess lead. Elisa is the chosen one, though she’s never done anything important in her life.

The first book is kind of slow, but as the series progresses, the magic and importance of the main character improves. It did keep me turning the pages, and unlike Graceling, I did complete the series.


Grave Mercy, His Fair Assassin, Robin LaFevers, Books like Throne of Glass

13. Grave Mercy by Robin LaFevers

Number of Books: 5 (Complete Series)
Goodreads Rating: 3.89 – 104,362 ratings

Grave Mercy takes us back to the female assassin model like Throne of Glass. It also bears similarities to The Young Elites. Grave Mercy is a historical fiction novel. Its setting is a real place, during events that actually happened in world history.

Each book in the His Fair Assassin trilogy features a different protagonist. All three of them bear a birthmark indicating they possess mysterious attributes. Those with birthmarks are shunned from society and raised in a convent, a convent that teaches them to become assassins.


Kiss of Deception Mary E. Pearson

12. The Kiss of Deception by Mary E. Pearson

Number of Books: 5 (Complete Series)
Goodreads Rating: 3.97 – 110,714 ratings

The Kiss of Deception, like Throne of Glass, features a princess trying to keep a low profile, on the run from those who would do her harm.

It features the classic love triangle and is filled with so many wonderful twists. When the twist finally appears, it’ll have you flipping back and rereading paragraphs. You’ll ask yourself “How did I not see this coming?”

In my opinion, this book does not get the recognition that it deserves. It is an awesome series and you can’t go wrong with it.


The Young Elites by Marie Lu, Books like Throne of Glass

11. The Young Elites by Marie Lu

Number of Books: 3 (Complete Series)
Goodreads Rating: 3.88 – 124,777 ratings

The Young Elites is another series centered around social castes. Those with magic are reviled. It’s almost the opposite of Red Queen. Instead of ruling the world, magic-wielders are hunted and killed.

So we find Adelina. Victim of a plague that swept the lands, instead of dying like so many others, she survived. But her survival came with a price. It left a scar, proof that she now possesses a mysterious power.

Adelina is actually an anti-hero. It would be a bit spoileresque to say more, but trust me, you’ve never read a series like this before. If you’d like to read a book about a hero who’s not really a hero and that goes down a dark path, then this is for you.


Children of Blood and Bone Books Like Throne of Glass

10. Children of Blood and Bone by Tomi Adeyemi

Number of Books: 2 (Incomplete Series)
Goodreads Rating: 4.11 – 194,117 ratings

I’ve not read this book. But I had started it when it first came out a few years ago. Problem is, this book was so widely popular at the time that I was 52nd in line at the library and I really couldn’t be bothered to remember where I left off months later when it became available again.

But from what I did read, you won’t want to miss this book. I do have a physical copy of my own now. I’ll need to pick this up again some time soon. I actually even own the second book as well.

I frequently buy books when they release, even if I don’t read them, because I want to support authors. If we don’t buy their books, publishers will cancel the series.


Scythe by Neal Schusterman

9. Scythe by Neal Shusterman

Number of Books: 3 (Complete Series)
Goodreads Rating: 4.33 – 203,952 ratings

Scythe isn’t so much a set of books like Throne of Glass, but more a series that you don’t want to miss. It’s a dystopian, so it’s more in line with The Hunger Games than it is Throne of Glass, but that doesn’t mean you should skip it.

When we’re talking about greatest series of all time, Scythe certainly ranks up there right along with Throne of Glass. So give it a try.

It’s a world we’ve never seen and can hardly imagine. It’s world without death. Well, death as we know it. Our heroes are apprenticed to a Scythe: the only ones who can end life, and it’s a job that neither hero wants.


An Ember in the Ashes Books Like Throne of Glass

8. An Ember in the Ashes by Sabaa Tahir

Number of Books: 4 (Complete Series)
Goodreads Rating: 4.27 – 240,267 ratings

I absolutely love Laia and Elias’s story and this remains one of my favorite series. But truthfully, the supporting character, Helene, is whole really stole my heart.

If you haven’t read it yet, and are looking for an excellent series of books like Throne of Glass, this is for you.

A girl trying to save her brother enrolls in a military academy and befriends the school’s most skilled fighter. Together, they will change the fate of the empire.


Graceling, Kristin Cashore, Books like Throne of Glass

7. Graceling by Kristin Cashore

Number of Books: 4 (Complete Series)
Goodreads Rating: 4.07 – 424,117 ratings

Graceling is a fantastic book by itself. It only ranks so low on my list because I did not enjoy the second book. I didn’t like it so much that I never even read the third.

Katsa is a Graceling, one of the people born with an extreme ability. The ability of the antagonist is possibly one of the most creative approaches on magic that I have seen in a novel. How they face it is even more clever. Give it a shot, you might even like the second novel.


The Cruel Prince Books like Throne of Glass

6. The Cruel Prince by Holly Black

Number of Books: 3 (Complete Series)
Goodreads Rating: 4.10 – 559,966 ratings

I’ve heard mixed reviews on this one, but the ratings on Goodreads don’t lie. This is a popular book and falls into the same sword and sorcery subgenre as Throne of Glass.

There are fae, there’s a cruel prince, and there’s a pretty defiant girl who’s got her heart set on fitting into the faerie realm. Court intrigue abounds here.


Shadow and Bone by Leigh Bardugo

5. Shadow and Bone by Leigh Bardugo

Number of Books: 3 (Complete Series)
Goodreads Rating: 3.96 – 691,802 ratings

Shadow and Bone is another fantastic series that will leave you thirsting for more. I think I read the whole series in a week. This book centers around those with magic, the Grisha, and those without magic. Children with magic are discovered at a young age and trained as Grisha.

But they missed Alina Starkov, and she’s spent her whole life unaware of the magic within her. That is, until it manifests itself when she least expects it.


Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard

4. Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard

Number of Books: 4 (Complete Series)
Goodreads Rating: 4.04 – 765,894 ratings

Red Queen used to be one of my all-time favorite series. I’ve since discovered a lot of new series, including many on this list, but that doesn’t mean Red Queen still isn’t important to me.

I will say, what you’ve heard is true. The last book in the series was easily my least favorite, but don’t let that stop you from reading it and seeing what all the hype is about.

The Reds are your normal magic-less folk ruled by the god-like Silvers. Mare is a Red, but she turns the world upside down when they discover she has a power that no one has every seen.


Cinder Marissa Meyer Books Like Throne of Glass

3. Cinder by Marissa Meyer

Number of Books: 4 (Complete Series)
Goodreads Rating: 4.13 – 797,522 ratings

At first glance, Cinder doesn’t sound anything like Throne of Glass. Cinder is Sci-Fi, Throne of Glass is Fantasy. Cinder is set in a future dystopian world, Throne of Glass is a made-up fantasy world. Throne of Glass has witches and fae, Cinder contains cyborgs and androids.

Not at all similar, right?

But did you know that Throne of Glass began as a Cinderella retelling? And there’s no denying that Cinder is a Cinderella retelling.

Not only that, but it’s AMAZING. I put off reading this book for so long, only to get sucked in from the first chapter. It’s a super fast read that I know you’ll love.

Good thing the series is complete. Now go and devour this epic series like Throne of Glass.


A Court of Thorns and Roses Books Like Throne of Glass

2. A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas

Number of Books: 5 (Series Not Complete)
Goodreads Rating: 4.19 – 913,687 ratings

I can’t have a list about books like Throne of Glass without highlighting another series by Sarah J. Maas, A Court of Thorns and Roses, or ACOTAR.

More Fae, more magic, more absolute awesomeness. Filled with twists, intrigue, and outright action, be sure to check out this series if you haven’t already. There are seven courts of the fae, each with their own High Lord and each with their own properties (Day, Night, Winter, Spring, etc). Humans and Fae have been at odds for centuries, but the real threat lies elsewhere.

Already read ACOTAR? You might enjoy this list of 10 Books like A Court of Thorns and Roses.


Eragon, Christopher Paolini,

1. Eragon by Christopher Paolini

Number of Books: 4 (Complete Series)
Goodreads Rating: 3.92 – 1,581,803 ratings

Eragon is a wonderful book about dragons. This is the only book on the list with a male protagonist. Paolini wrote the book for a much younger age range, often found in the children’s fantasy section of book stores.

Eragon is your average boy until he finds a dragon egg. His simple farm life no longer possible, he must embark on a journey to save himself, his dragon, and just maybe the entire empire.


Final Thoughts on Books Like Throne of Glass

Well, there you have it, 20+ books like Throne of Glass. Which books have you read? Which books are next on your TBR?

Let me know in the comments below. I absolutely love to chat about books.

Want more book recommendations?

Check out this list of 13 books like Scythe by Neal Shusterman you won’t want to miss.

8 thoughts on “20+ Books Like Throne of Glass You Need to Read in 2022

    1. You can, with one caveat. It’s sort of spoilery to say this, but based on the latest Crescent City novel, it appears that cross-over events are imminent. To say anymore would be a spoiler, so I’m afraid I can’t elaborate. You can enjoy Crescent City without having read any of the others, but I would highly recommend reading at least ACOTAR first.

      1. That’s not entirely true. To explain why here is spoilers. Book 1 is completely unrelated, yes, but it’s highly recommended to at least read the entire A Court of Thorns and Roses series before reading HOSAB. Is it necessary? No. But certain things make a heck of a lot more sense if you do.

    1. I would say absolutely not. I’m in my 30s and wouldn’t read it. I started to, but never finished the first chapter. DEFINITELY not family friendly. But different people have different values, so I’d say it depends on the teen and the parents.

    1. Box sets are usually cheaper than individually purchased, plus you guarantee all the books are the same style, size, and it comes with a box.

      That being said, the ebook bundle is the cheapest by far.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.