3 Ways to Read The Selection Series in Order by Kiera Cass

The Selection Series in Order

What is the best way to read The Selection series in order?

I read the original Selection trilogy in 3 days, one a night. It’s the fastest I’ve read any books ever. Since then, two more books came out and a host of novellas.

There are three ways you can read them all. The first is by order of publication, which is how I read them.

The second way to read The Selection series in order is chronologically.

And the third way is my own personal recommendation.

The Selections Series in Order Kiera Cass

The Selection Series Summary

The Selection is about a girl named America Singer who is a small hometown girl stuck in the caste system of a future fractured United States.

She’s a peasant and won’t ever be anything but. Except that once a generation, a competition is held to find a suitor for the crown prince among the various women of the land, regardless of caste.

Everyone knows the competition is rigged, but any girls who participate receive a cash prize, and America’s family could really use the money.

She doesn’t want to go, in fact America opposes the idea completely, but as you can imagine she ends up in the competition and meets Prince Maxon who isn’t at all what she expected.

There’s suspense, romance, and tension in this mesmerizing adventure that will surely keep you turning the pages in the night.

We’ll start off our lists with The Selection Books in Order by Publication.

The Selection Series in order

#1 The Selection Series in Order by Publication

The first way to read the Selection series in order is by publication date. It’s the easiest way to go.

This is the reading order that millions of people used, including myself.

I’m going to simply list out the books in the Selection Series in order for you, then after all three ways to read we’ll dive into each individual book and novella.

Note: All four novellas are included in the “Happily Ever After” collection. This is not a separate book, just a compilation of all four individual novellas.

1. The Selection (2012)
2. The Elite (2013)
3. The Prince (Novella) (2013)
4. The Guard (Novella) (2014)
5. The One (2014)
6. The Queen (Novella) (2014)
7. The Heir (2015)
8. The Favorite (Novella) (2015)
9. The Crown (2016)

The Selection Series Books

Now let’s take a look at each book in The Selection series individually and tell you what they’re all about. This will help you determine whether you want to read the novellas or not.

This list will place the books in The Selection series in order by publication date.

Keep reading to discover two more ways to read The Selection series in order.


The Selection Kiera Cass, The Selection Series in Order

1. The Selection

Prepare to be swept into a world of breathless fairy-tale romance, swoonworthy characters, glittering gowns, and fierce intrigue perfect for readers who loved Divergent, Delirium, or The Wrath & the Dawn.

For thirty-five girls, the Selection is the chance of a lifetime. The opportunity to escape a rigid caste system, live in a palace, and compete for the heart of gorgeous Prince Maxon. But for America Singer, being Selected is a nightmare. It means turning her back on her secret love with Aspen, who is a caste below her, and competing for a crown she doesn’t want.

Then America meets Prince Maxon…


2. The Elite

The second book in Kiera Cass’s #1 New York Times bestselling Selection series

With even more glamour, intrigue, and swoon-worthy romance, this sparkling sequel to The Selection will captivate readers who loved Veronica Roth’s Divergent, Lauren Oliver’s Delirium, or Renée Ahdieh’s The Wrath & the Dawn.

Thirty-five girls came to the palace to compete in the Selection, and to win Prince Maxon’s heart. Now six girls remain, and the competition is fiercer than ever…


The Prince Kiera Cass, The Selection Series in Order

2.1 The Prince

Don’t miss this captivating novella set in the world of the #1 New York Times bestselling Selection series!

Go behind the scenes of the competition with this story from the point of view of Prince Maxon.

Before America Singer was chosen to compete in the Selection, there was another girl in Prince Maxon’s life . . . . In The Prince, follow Prince Maxon through the week leading up to the beginning of the Selection—and the day he first meets America.


2.2 The Guard

Don’t miss this captivating novella from the world of the #1 New York Times bestselling Selection series! Set just after the Selection is narrowed down to the Elite, this story gives readers a glimpse into the heart and mind of America’s first love.

Before America Singer met Prince Maxon, she was in love with a boy named Aspen Leger—who never imagined that he would follow America to the palace as a member of the royal guard . . .

The Guard also includes a teaser to The One, the thrilling third novel in the Selection series.


The One Kiera Cass

3. The One

The captivating third book in Kiera Cass’s #1 New York Times bestselling Selection series

America Singer searches for her happily ever after in this swoon-worthy YA dystopian romance, perfect for readers who loved Veronica Roth’s Divergent, Lauren Oliver’s Delirium, or Renée Ahdieh’s The Wrath & the Dawn.

Entering the Selection changed America Singer’s life in ways she never could have imagined. Since she arrived at the palace, America has struggled with her feelings for her first love, Aspen—and her growing attraction to Prince Maxon. Now she’s made her choice . . . and she’s prepared to fight for the future she wants.


The Queen Kiera Cass, The Selection series in order

3.5 The Queen

Don’t miss this digital original novella set in the captivating world of Kiera Cass’s #1 New York Times bestselling Selection series.

Before America Singer’s story began, another girl came to the palace to compete for the hand of a different prince….

This prequel story takes place before the events of The Selection and is told from the point of view of Prince Maxon’s mother, Amberly. Discover a whole new Selection with this inside look at how Maxon’s parents met—and how an ordinary girl named Amberly became a beloved queen.


The Heir Kiera Cass, The Selection Series in Order

4. The Heir

A new era dawns in the world of Kiera Cass’s #1 New York Times bestselling Selection series

America and Maxon’s fairy-tale romance enchanted readers from the very first page of The Selection. Now find out what happens after happily ever after in this fourth captivating novel, perfect for fans of Veronica Roth’s Divergent, Lauren Oliver’s Delirium, or Renée Ahdieh’s The Wrath & the Dawn.

Twenty years ago, America Singer entered the Selection and won Prince Maxon’s heart. Now the time has come for Princess Eadlyn to hold a Selection of her own…


The Favorite Kiera Cass, The Selection Series in Order

4.5 The Favorite

Revisit the captivating world of Kiera Cass’s #1 New York Times bestselling Selection series in this digital original novella.

  While America Singer’s heart was torn between Aspen and Prince Maxon, her friend Marlee knew exactly what she wanted—and paid the price.

Told from Marlee’s point of view, this all-new 64-page story returns to the fateful Halloween when Marlee and Carter were discovered and reveals how that night—and Prince Maxon—changed their lives forever.


The Crown Kiera Cass

5. The Crown


Now the end of the journey is here. Prepare to be swept off your feet by The Crown—the eagerly awaited, wonderfully romantic fifth and final book in the Selection series.

In The Heir, a new era dawned in the world of The Selection. Twenty years have passed since America Singer and Prince Maxon fell in love, and their daughter is the first princess to hold a Selection of her own.

Eadlyn didn’t think she would find a real partner among the Selection’s thirty-five suitors, let alone true love. But sometimes the heart has a way of surprising you…and now Eadlyn must make a choice that feels more difficult—and more important—than she ever expected.


#2 The Selection Books in Chronological Order

The next Selection series reading order is for fans doing a re-read. I wouldn’t recommend this path for new readers.

This reading order starts the series off with two novellas and that means you’re reading about the supporting characters before you ever meet the main character.

But for fans looking for a true timeline, this is the reading order for you.

0.1 The Queen (Novella)
0.2 The Prince (Novella)
1. The Selection
2. The Elite
2.5 The Guard (Novella)
3. The One
3.5 The Favorite (Novella)
4. The Heir
6. The Crown

#3 The Selection Series in Order by Recommendation

The last path is for those looking for the best way to read The Selection series in order should consider the final reading option.

This is my own personal recommendation and its a mish mash of the two reading orders above.

Since I think everyone should start their journey with The Selection, I’d recommend holding off on reading novellas until after Book 1. I’ve placed The Prince after we meet Maxon, but The Queen later in the story, once we’ve had more time with Maxon’s dear mother.

1. The Selection
1.5 The Prince (Novella)
2. The Elite
2.1 The Queen (Novella)
2.2 The Guard (Novella)
3. The One
3.5 The Favorite (Novella)
4. The Heir
6. The Crown

This reading method also allows you to read most of the novellas at once.

As tempted as you may be, especially if you buy the Happily Ever After bundle, I would strongly advise against reading all four novellas at once.

At the very least, don’t read The Favorite before The One, as it contains spoilers from that story.

Looking for more books to read? Check out these 10 Books like Throne of Glass.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.