10 Books Like Verity You Need to Read Right Now

Books Like Verity by Colleen Hoover

The twists, turns, and shocking ending are what made Verity by Colleen Hoover such a popular novel. If those final chapters still have you reeling and hungering for more, take a look at our list of books like Verity.

About Verity by Colleen Hoover

Verity is one of the best Colleen Hoover books and has taken the book world by storm. With its popularity on Instagram and TikTok, it’s no wonder bookstores are struggling to stock their shelves with this suspenseful thriller.

This standalone novel features romance, big dreams, and questionable characters. No one is trustworthy, and putting together the pieces that make up the puzzle proves difficult.

This novel follows Lowen, an introverted and struggling writer. When she’s offered the job of a lifetime, she doesn’t refuse.

Verity Crawford is a bestselling author who enjoys writing from the villain’s perspective. But after a car accident renders her unable to finish her current series, her husband Jeremy turns to Lowen.

When Lowen arrives at the Crawford home to sort through Verity’s outlines, she doesn’t expect to find an unfinished manuscript detailing horrors that chill her to the bone.

The manuscript is full of terrible revelations Lowen knows Verity never intended anyone to hear, including a detailed tale of what really happened the day her daughter died.

Despite her growing relationship with Jeremy, Lowen decides to keep the manuscript hidden… for now. She knows that no man, no matter how devoted, could stand to stay with his wife after learning horrifying truths.

It would be impossible for him to continue to love Verity after everything she’s done, leaving the door open for Lowen to step into her shoes.

If you loved Verity, Colleen Hoover is releasing a special edition with a bonus chapter inside!

Colleen Hoover is a bestselling author of romance, YA, thriller, and paranormal romance. She is also the founder of the Bookworm Box charity.

Books Like Verity by Colleen Hoover

Let’s take a look at our list of books like Verity. The books below were selected because they contain similar tropes or characters. Every book is fast-paced, filled with shocking twists and chilling revelations.


Layla by Colleen Hoover Books Like Verity

1. Layla by Colleen Hoover

First on our list of books like Verity is Layla by Colleen Hoover. If you enjoyed Hoover’s writing style in Verity, then you’re sure to enjoy this haunting paranormal romance.

Leeds thinks he’s found the love of his life until a violent attack has his love fighting for her life. Layla recovers but is mentally scarred and isn’t the girl he fell in love with.

Hoping to save his relationship, Leeds takes Layla on a romantic getaway. But strange occurrences begin as soon as they arrive, and Layla’s behavior worsens.

A burdened Leeds meets Willow, another guest at the B&B, and begins to fall in love with her. But Leeds soon realizes that his longing for Willow and his interest in helping Layla conflict… and making the wrong choice between the two could be dangerous.


Rebecca by Daphne du Maurier

2. Rebecca by Daphne du Maurier

You’re guaranteed to love Rebecca by Daphne du Maurier if you enjoyed Verity, as this suspenseful romance inspired Hoover’s novel.

This novel follows an unnamed narrator who marries widower Maxim de Winter. After being whisked away to Manderley, a large estate that drips with his previous wife, Rebecca’s, influence.

No matter where our narrator goes, she can feel Rebecca lurking around every corner. There’s nowhere to escape, and if this bride isn’t careful, she’ll be eclipsed in Rebecca’s shadow.


My Lovely Wife by Samantha Downing

3. My Lovely Wife by Samantha Downing

Next on our list of books like Verity, is My Lovely Wife by Samantha Downing, a novel that matches Hoover’s thriller with a dark and twisted plot.

Narrated by the unnamed husband, My Lovely Wife features a picture-perfect family. A married couple with two kids living in the suburbs. But what if this couple has secrets darker than most?

Marriage is getting boring, and they’ve got just the trick to ignite a spark between them once again. While some couples try fancy date nights, this couple likes to get away with murder.


The Paris Apartment by Lucy Foley Books Like Verity

4. The Paris Apartment by Lucy Foley

If you enjoyed the mystery in Verity, then you’ll find yourself glued to the pages of The Paris Apartment by Lucy Foley.

Struggling and looking for a fresh start, Jess moves in with her half-brother Ben, who isn’t exactly thrilled about the arrangement. But when Jess shows up at his surprisingly lavish Paris apartment, he isn’t there.

As time passes and Ben doesn’t come home, Jess begins searching for answers and only develops more questions. All the neighbors have differing personalities and secrets they aren’t willing to share, which makes everyone a subject.


Confessions by Kanae Minato

5. Confessions by Kanae Minato

Next on our list of books like Verity is Confessions by Kanae Minato, a thriller with a shocking twist.

Yuki is a middle school teacher who lives to be a mother to her four-year-old child. But after a tragic accident takes her child on school grounds, Yuki resigns with nothing left to live for.

During her last lecture, Yuki tells her students a story that changes everything they knew about two of their peers. This unleashes a diabolical plan for revenge.


The Silent Patient by Alex Michaelides

6. The Silent Patient by Alex Michaelides

Ready for a thriller that gives you more questions than answers? The Silent Patient by Alex Michaelides may be the book for you.

Alicia has a perfect life. She’s a famous painter, married to a popular fashion photographer, and lives in a big house. But one night, when her husband returns home late, Alicia shoots him five times in the head.

Now, tucked away in a secure forensic unit, Alicia refuses to talk. No one knows her motive or understands her crime, and because of this, she has become a global phenomenon.

But criminal psychotherapist Theo Faber is determined to get answers. What he doesn’t realize is that the truth could consume him.


The Ghostwriter by A.R. Torre Books Like Verity

7. The Ghostwriter by A.R. Torre

Next on our list of books like Verity is The Ghostwriter by A.R. Torre, a book that will keep you guessing.

Four years ago, she lied to the police, her family, and her friends. It was the best lie she ever told.

As a famous author, spinning stories comes easy to her. It’s brought her fame and fortune, millions of fans, and bestselling novels.

Now it’s time to write her final story. One the world won’t see coming.


Behind Closed Doors by B.A. Paris

8. Behind Closed Doors by B.A. Paris

Books like Verity grab your attention, and Behind Closed Doors by B.A. Paris does just that.

Jack and Grace appear to have the perfect marriage. They are endlessly happy, successful, and loving. You like Grace, you want to get to know her better, but that’ll be difficult because the newlyweds are inseparable.

You could call them soul mates, or you could wonder why Grace can never meet one-on-one. Why she won’t answer the phone or how she can cook extravagant meals and remain so slim.

You might even wonder why there are high-security shutters on the downstairs windows. What happens to Grace when the dinner parties end and the front door closes?


The Last Mrs. Parrish by Liv Constantine

9. The Last Mrs. Parrish by Liv Constantine

If you’re looking for books like Verity because you loved the complex female characters, The Last Mrs. Parrish by Liv Constantine might be the book for you.

Amber is a nobody, a wallflower, someone who blends into the background, and she’s sick of it. She deserves to be rich, drunk on power, like perfect and ungrateful Daphne Parrish.

The entire town believes Daphne and her husband, Jackson, are soul mates. And exploiting Daphne’s caring nature is an easy way for Amber to weasel her way into their family’s life. 

Amber finds herself traveling with the Parrishes, enjoying time with their daughters, and growing closer to Jackson. She is finally getting the life she deserves… until a ghost from her past threatens to upend it all.


The Maidens by Alex Michaelides Books Like Verity

10. The Maidens by Alex Michaelides

The last book on our list of books like Verity is The Maidens by Alex Michaelides.

Marina is positive that the handsome Greek Tragedy professor at Cambridge University is a murderer. Edward is adored and revered by students and faculty, but especially by The Maidens, a secret society of female students.

After the murder of one of The Maidens, Marina immediately suspects something dark is afoot. 

With the professor’s obsession with Persephone’s journey to the underworld growing and the death count rising, Marina is ready to sacrifice her life for the truth. 


Final thoughts on books like Verity

Whether you’re looking for a plot twist you don’t see coming, chilling characters, or a mystery that only breeds more questions, there’s a book for you on our list of books like Verity. We hope you found a few thrillers to add to your to-be-read pile!

Looking for more books?

Check out this list of 15 Books like The Love Hypothesis by Ali Hazelwood.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.