14 Books Like It Ends With Us by Colleen Hoover

Books Like It Ends With Us

If you’re one of those people who finished It Ends With Us by Colleen Hoover, got themselves destroyed by the end of the book, nonetheless still wants to do it all over again, well, this post will help you with that. There are many books like It Ends With Us that may not be exactly as deep or emotional as this book but can give the same feels. 

Colleen Hoover did excellent work bringing her readers on an emotional roller coaster from start to finish of this book. It is stunningly beautiful, to say the least—it’ll make you fall in love, then rip your heart out, and leave you with a powerful ending that stays long even after you’ve closed the book. But, most readers would agree that it’s really the message Hoover is trying to send off about the complex issue of abuse that makes this book read-worthy. 

So, if you can’t get enough of It Ends With Us, here are 14 books similar to it you’ll love.

Colleen Hoover books like It Ends With Us

Where else can we find more books similar to It Ends With Us than from Hoover’s works? Here you go.

Ugly Love Books Like It Ends With Us

1. Ugly Love by Colleen Hoover

Ugly Love is receiving mixed emotions even among Hoover’s fans, but it’s still one of the recommended reads similar to It Ends With Us. 

Tate Collins doesn’t call meeting Miles Archer, an airline pilot, love at first sight. They don’t even come close to calling themselves friends. But, what they have is an undeniable attraction for each other. They then on enter into an agreement and Miles gives her two rules: 

“Never ask about the past.

Don’t expect a future.”

But when feelings get in the way, would the rules be enough to keep them from falling in love?


Verity by Colleen Hoover

2. Verity by Colleen Hoover

Here’s a standalone “sublimely creepy” romantic thriller from Hoover that suits adult readers. 

Lowen Ashleigh, a writer in New York, is on the brink of financial ruin when Jeremy Crawford, the husband of thriller writer Verity Crawford, offers her to ghostwrite and finish Verity’s bestselling series after a tragic accident left Verity in a comatose state.

Lowen agrees to come to the Crawford house to sort out Verity’s notes on the series when unexpectedly, she finds an unfinished manuscript of Verity’s autobiography. She learns shocking admissions and decides to keep them from Jeremy to protect his feelings. But, as she grows closer to Jeremy, she struggles to hide the truth from him.


Tear-jerking books like It Ends With Us

People who are in for a sobfest, look no further. Here’s a list of books like It Ends With Us that’ll break your heart and probably mend it again. Enjoy! (That’s quite awkward to say but seriously hope you do.)

Me Before You by Jojo Moyes

3. Me Before You by Jojo Moyes

Here’s one of the books like It Ends With Us that you’ll need tissues for. You’ve probably seen the movie, but the book is equally heart-wrenching (probably more).

We meet here the quirky Louisa Clark, an ordinary girl living an exceedingly ordinary life. She takes a badly needed job working for ex-Master of the Universe Will Traynor, who is wheelchair-bound after an accident. Will has always lived a huge life, and now he’s pretty sure he cannot live the way he is.

Will is sarcastic, cranky, and bossy, but Lou refuses to treat him with kid gloves, and his happiness soon becomes more important to her than she ever imagined. When she learns that Will has shocking plans of his own, she sets out to show him that life is still worth living.


Love and Other Words Books Like It Ends With Us

4. Love and Other Words by Christina Lauren

Love and Other Words by Christina Lauren follows Macy Sorensen. She works hard as a pediatrics resident and leaves her past behind, especially Elliot Petropoulos, her first and only love. But, when Elliot is reintroduced into her world by a chance encounter, she can’t help but wonder how they got there and where they’re going from here.

It’s a less intense version of It Ends With Us, and if alternating “then” and “now” timelines is your vibe, you’ll fall in love with this book.


Bright Side by Kim Holden

5. Bright Side by Kim Holden

Here’s one of the books similar to It Ends With Us that’s incredibly heartbreaking yet strangely positive. 

Kate Sedgwick is strong-willed, funny, intelligent, and musically gifted, and she’s endured hardship and tragedy. Still, throughout it all, she remains happy and optimistic (no wonder Gus gave her the nickname “Bright Side”). But, one thing escapes her optimism—love. So when Kate leaves San Diego to attend college in the small town of Grant, Minnesota, the last thing she expects is to fall in love with Keller Banks.

They both feel it. But they each have a reason to fight it. They each have a secret.


The Last Letter From Your Lover Books Like It Ends With Us

6. The Last Letter From Your Lover by Jojo Moyes

If romantic love stories centered around secret handwritten love letters are one of your favorite tropes, then this one’s for you. Here’s another one from Jojo Moye’s works recently adapted into an original Netflix movie. 

It is 1960. Jennifer Stirling can’t remember anything when she wakes up in the hospital—not the tragic accident that brought her there, not her husband, nor even who she is. She feels like a complete stranger in her own life until she comes across an impassioned letter requesting her to divorce her husband, signed “B.”

Years later, in 2003, Ellie, a journalist, discovers the same mysterious letter in a forgotten file in her newspaper’s archives. She becomes obsessed with the story and hopes it can resurrect her faltering career. Ellie’s search will change the course of history and help her see the truth about her own complicated romance.


Things We Never Said by Nick Alexander

7. Things We Never Said by Nick Alexander

Catherine was the love of Sean’s life. But now she is gone. All that’s left is a box with 29 envelopes, each containing a photo and a cassette tape. 

Catherine shares their long love story—from their happy times to every unspoken thought and secret she kept from her husband in the recordings. All the revelations from her wife will shake everything Sean thought he knew about their life together.

Despite how disturbing the records turn out to be, Sean still hopes they’ll answer the one question he never dared to ask. Is there a thing as destiny? And were his and Catherine’s love and life together always meant to be?

Although the story sounds depressing, it’s actually an uplifting and amusing read, too.


Swear on This Life by Renée Carlino

8. Swear on This Life by Renée Carlino 

Swear on This Life follows Emiline, who has left her dark and desperate past behind. She’s well attuned to the literary world, being an adjunct writing instructor herself, so when a debut fiction novel from a mysterious author starts making the rounds, she begins to read it. 

But, she discovers that the story is patterned on her very real past—which only means the author must be Jase: the best friend and first love she hasn’t seen in over a decade. She has to put her mind at ease, but would she be strong enough to confront him?

It’s captivating, tear-jerking, and most readers agree it’s the second-chance theme that steals the show in this book like It Ends With Us.


Under Rose-Tainted Skies by Louise Gornall

9.  Under Rose-Tainted Skies by Louise Gornall

If you’re in for books about mental health, then you need to give this a shot. It gives a realistic look at the struggles of people with mental health issues and how it affects those around them. 

Under Rose-Tainted Skies by Louise Gornall tells the story of Norah, a teen who battles OCD, agoraphobia (fear of going outside), and anxiety. She’s been mostly housebound for four years after experiencing a severe anxiety attack at school.

Her life takes a turn when Luke arrives on her doorstep. He sees beyond Norah’s mental illness and sees a girl who is funny, smart, and brave. Their friendship deepens, but Norah knows Luke deserves a normal girl. Can she let him go for his good—or learn to see herself through Luke’s eyes?


One True Loves Books Like It Ends With Us

10. One True Loves by Taylor Jenkins Reid

One True Loves by Taylor Jenkins Reid is about Emma Blair, who lost her husband, Jesse, in a tragic accident. She quits her job and returns to her hometown in an effort to put her life back together. 

Years later, she runs into Sam, an old friend, and finds herself falling in love again. She feels she’s got a second chance at life and happiness again when she and Sam get engaged. But, Emma is confronted with impossible news: Jesse is alive and has spent years trying to come home to her. Now she must decide who she is, choose between an old and new love, between Jesse and Sam.

It’s an old trope, given a unique spin by Taylor Jenkins Reid, and she sure does know how to tug heartstrings. The bestseller’s movie adaptation is in the works, too.


Fun and Light-read Books Similar to It Ends With Us

Those who need a breakup from soul-crushing novels can find light, entertaining, and even funny reads here.

It Happened One Summer by Tessa Bailey

11. It Happened One Summer by Tessa Bailey

After the sobbing from It Ends With Us, maybe you’re in for a hearty laugh? Here’s a Schitt’s Creek-inspired rom-com you’ll probably stick your nose into.

It Happened One Summer is about Piper Bellinger, a Hollywood “It Girl” who’s cut off from her wealthy family and exiled to a small Pacific Northwest beach town where she meets a big, bearded sea captain Brendan who thinks she won’t last a week outside of Beverly Hills. But she’s determined to show that she’s more than a pretty face.

Piper and Brendan are polar opposites, but they have an undeniable attraction simmering between them. As Piper reconnects with her past and begins to feel at home in Westport, she starts to wonder if the cold, glamorous life she knew is what she truly wants. Maybe the small town has already caught her heart.


The Love Hypothesis Books Like It Ends With Us

12. The Love Hypothesis by Ali Hazelwood

As far as the books like It Ends With Us go, this one’s a bit light and fun where you’ll find yourself smiling and chuckling as you turn page after page. And if the fake-dating trope is your vibe, don’t skip this. 

The plot builds around Olive Smith, a third-year Ph.D. candidate who doesn’t believe in love. But, she gets herself into trouble when she tries to make her best friend, Anh, think that she’s dating—she kisses the first man she sees. Little did she know that the “stranger” is Dr. Adam Carlson, a prominent professor in her department known for being a hypercritical and moody tyrant. 

She and Adam both have reasons to be in a relationship, so they agree to pretend to date for the sake of appearances. But, it’s only a matter of time when their little experiment comes close to combustion.


The Soulmate Equation by Christina Lauren

13. The Soulmate Equation by Christina Lauren

One of the books similar to It Ends With Us with an interesting premise, incredible chemistry, and a funny and adorable cast. It’s just an entertaining and light-read rom-com you’ll probably can’t get enough of. 

The story follows Jess Davis, a single mom and a data and statistics wizard who doesn’t have any luck in dating. But her best friend convinces her to try a dating app that pairs participants using DNA matching. 

When her numbers are out, she’s dumbfounded because she is matched to one of the company’s founders, Dr. River Peña. She knows him in real life, and she’s sure that the stuck-up, stubborn man isn’t her soulmate. But as the forced dating begins, she realizes that there might be more to the science behind a soulmate than she thought.


Eleanor & Park Books Like It Ends With Us

14. Eleanor & Park by Rainbow Rowell

Eleanor & Park is set in the eighties, a story about Eleanor, a new girl in town with crazy red hair and strange clothes, and a chaotic family life who meets Park, the quiet Asian boy who thinks himself to be invisible. They sit awkwardly at the back of the bus, never speaking but soon discover they have interests in common. 

After the silence is broken, slowly, steadily, the two are propelled into a whirlwind of first love. Even though neither has a perfect life, they find comfort in each other.

This book has the feels—funny and romantic, yet also bittersweet; a beautiful tale that’s going to melt your heart like It Ends With Us.


Looking for more great books?

Check out this list of 15 Books like Divergent.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.