15 Books Like Divergent You Need to Read Right Now

Books Like Divergent

You can’t remember how many times you’ve reread or rewatched the Divergent series but still can’t get over its end? Hold tight! Here are more books like Divergent you can dive into to cure your Divergent book hangover.

Divergent is one of the fad series that helped build the YA dystopia-obsession era back in the 2010s. A lot of people were sold to its intriguing plot, strong-female-character-takes-down-government trope, plus the romance between Tris and Four. And until now, Divergent is still one of the most-picked dystopian young-adult books. 

Now, we won’t let you suffer for long. Here are 15 more books similar to Divergent you can read next!

Dystopian Government Books Similar to Divergent

Divergent fans craving more smash-the-state dystopia stories are in for a treat with this selection of books like Divergent.

The Hunger Games Books like Divergent

1. The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins

Divergent has long-endured comparisons to The Hunger Games series. And if you’ve watched The Hunger Games movies, you’ve probably already had an idea why. Which is the best between the two? I leave that for you to decide. 

The Capitol rules the 12 districts in the post-apocalyptic nation Panem. They hold an annual Hunger Games where they force two representatives from each district, one girl and one boy, to fight until death on live TV.

On the Day of Reaping, 16-year-old Katniss Everdeen steps forward to take her sister’s place in the Games. Katniss becomes a contender, but to win, she has to make choices between survival and humanity, life and love.


Delirium by Lauren Oliver

2. Delirium by Lauren Oliver

Unlike most dystopian novels, this book explores emotional control, which is kind of unique. It’s an enjoyable read you wouldn’t want to put down. 

In the alternate United States, love is considered a dangerous disease, and everyone, upon turning 18, has to be cured of it. 

We meet Lena Haloway. Lena can’t wait to take the cure and live a simple and predictable life just like everybody else. 

But, 95 days before her treatment, she meets Alex. He’s mysterious, a boy from the wild and who’s hiding from the government. What happens when Lena does the unthinkable and falls in love?


The Darkest Minds Books like Divergent

3. The Darkest Minds by Alexandra Bracken

In the distant future, a mysterious disease kills almost all of America’s children. Kids who survived developed superpowers, but the government sends them to concentration camps because they’re considered a threat. 

Enter Ruby, one of the kids with dangerous powers. She barely escapes from the camp, joins a group of kids on the run from the government, and heads to a safe place where kids like them live. 

But, Ruby and her friends realize running away isn’t enough; they have to use their abilities and fight back to survive.  

It might sound like another dystopian knock-off, but it isn’t—it’s unique on its own. It’s equal parts enjoyable and terrifying.


Red Rising by Pierce Brown

4. Red Rising by Pierce Brown

Rather than a post-apocalyptic nation divided into factions, society is structured on colors in the Red Rising. 

Darrow is a Red; he belongs to the lowest rank in the system. They work underground, assigned to harsh labor to make Mars liveable for others—or so they were told to believe. 

But he learns that they’ve been lied to, that they are but slaves to a ruling class. 

Darrow seeks justice by entering the legendary Institute. There he fights blood-letting trials to change his caste from Red to Gold and bring his enemies down from the inside out.


The Uglies by Scott Westerfeld

5. The Uglies by Scott Westerfeld

In a futuristic society, everyone under the age of 16 is born ugly until they undergo an operation to turn them into stunning pretty. 

Tally can’t wait to take the procedure because more than becoming pretty, she’ll also be whisked away into a high-tech paradise where her only job is to have fun (don’t we all wish).

But, she meets Shay, one of those teenagers who believes changing people’s faces is wrong. Shay runs away, and Tally learns about the ugly part of the world she lives in. 

Tally has to choose: find Shay and betray her or never become pretty at all. Her choice alters her world forever. 

It’s a great sci-fi dystopic novel exploring how we look at beauty.


Legend Books like Divergent

6. Legend by Marie Lu

Fast-paced plot? Yes! Action-packed? Yes! Secretive government dividing the society into classes? Yes!

In a dark futuristic Los Angeles, we meet June and Day. June is born into an elite family, a prodigy, and is on her way to joining the Republic’s highest military force. Then, there’s Day, born from a squalid district and the country’s most wanted criminal. 

When June’s brother is murdered and Day becomes the prime suspect, June hunts Day to exact vengeance. But, when their paths cross, the most unlikely happens: the two uncover the truth about the government’s secrets and the truth about what brought them together.


The Testing by Joelle Charbonneau

7. The Testing by Joelle Charbonneau

The Testing is trope-heavy, but its premise is pretty well-done—inspired by a bloody sport called college application. Kidding aside, it’s intriguing enough that you might not want to put it down.

The Seven Stages War turned most of the world into post-apocalyptic ruins. Now humanity’s future rests in a chosen few. But, to join this elite group, one has to pass The Testing—their one chance at a University education and becoming a future leader. 

Enter Cia, who becomes one of the candidates for The Testing. But the night before her test, her father tells her to trust no one.


Maze Runner by James Dashner

8. The Maze Runner by James Dashner 

This, together with The Hunger Games and Divergent, formed the rapid rise of the dystopian genre in the 2010s. And if you haven’t read the book, it’s time to give yourself a favor. 

This time it’s not a heroine; instead, the Maze Runner features a male protagonist, Thomas. 

Thomas wakes up to see the Glade, an open area closed in by massive walls. He has no idea of what’s going on and no memory of himself. He finds there 50 more teenage boys and discovers that the only way to get out of the Glade is through a deadly, ever-changing maze. 

But getting out of the Maze leads them to discover a terrifying truth. They end up fighting for their lives in a ruined world and against an organization called the WICKED. 

Maze Runner has elements similar to Divergent that make it an equally enjoyable read.


Dystopian Romance Books Like Divergent

For those who can’t get over Tris and Four’s relationship, here are a few dystopian romance books like Divergent to whet your appetite.

Under the Never Sky Books like Divergent

9. Under the Never Sky by Veronica Rossi

More than the fancy title, the world-building, characters, and plot in Under the Never Sky are equally fascinating. 

The Aether storms divided humanity into two factions: the Dwellers, who live in protective pods, and the Outsiders, who live outside the camp. 

Aria is a Dweller and has never known what lies beyond her safe dome. So, when her mother goes missing and she’s thrown off in the outside world, she knows her chances of survival are slim. 

She meets Perry, an Outsider with unique abilities and who’s looking for someone, too. Despite themselves, they become each other’s hope for survival and, well, you guessed it, develop an unlikely love.


10. Matched by Ally Condie

Imagine a society where everything is figured out for you: the book you’ll read, the job you’ll take, and who to love. And they make the right choices every time. 

That’s the world Cassia lives in, and she’s always trusted Society to make the choices for her. 

So, when Xander, her best friend’s face appears on the screen during her Matching ceremony, she trusts he’s the perfect mate for her. But, for a split second, Ky Markham’s face flashes right before the screen goes black. 

Glitch or not, it’s too late; Cassia and Ky slowly fall in love. What happens when Cassia makes her own choice?


The Selection Books like Divergent

11. The Selection by Kiera Cass

If you want to move away from the dark and intense dystopian novels to a bit more light and feel-good ones, give The Selection Series a try. 

The Selections Series has been dubbed as The Hunger Games meets The Bachelor. Well, there’s no bloody sport here; it’s about a group of girls competing for a prince’s heart.

While other girls dream of entering The Selection—a competition where 35 girls stay in the place and try to win Prince Maxon’s love, America Singer, doesn’t want anything to do with it. Why? Because it means leaving behind her love, Aspen, who belongs to a caste lower than her.

But, after a series of events, she finally agrees to do it and leave her home. She meets Maxon, and that’s when she begins to question all the plans she made for herself.


The Gender Game by Bella Forrest

12. The Gender Game by Bella Forrest

Here’s a dystopian romance novel where the world is divided by gender: women rule the east, and men rule the west.

The story centers around Violet Bates. After her younger brother disappears, her anger spirals out of control, and she’s sentenced to death for her crimes. But one thing can save her life: crossing the toxic river and escaping to Patrus, the land ruled by men. 

But, here’s the catch: living in Patrus requires the full submission, and well, Violet isn’t the most submissive one. She’s pulled into more danger, and she’ll learn sacrifice, including forbidden love. 

If you’re aching for more dystopian books with a tough heroine to root for, you might want to check this one out.


Other Sci-Fi Dystopian Books Similar to Divergent

While these books are similar to Divergent, they have unique premises—a refreshing departure from your current pile of sci-fi dystopian books.

Enclave by Ann Aguirre

13. Enclave by Ann Aguirre

War and plague left New York in ruins, and now the surviving population hides in underground enclaves where there are three groups: Builders, Breeders, and Hunters. In Enclave, you’ll get a real name when you’re lucky enough to make it at age 15. 

Enter Deuce, who just turned 15 and is a Huntress. She goes hunting and is paired up with Fade, a handsome, strange boy. But, here’s the catch: they have to avoid the dauntless zombies called the Freaks.

Unfortunate events ensue, and the two are exiled from the enclave. Now, Deuce has to learn to face dangers and survive in daylight. 

Heads-up: Enclave is one of the books similar to Divergent but is a lot darker and creepier.


The 5th Wave Books like Divergent

14. The 5th Wave by Rick Yancey

Move over post-apocalyptic novels on wars, plagues, and zombies. Here’s one on the alien apocalypse that deserves a place in our list of books like Divergent.

Four waves of alien invasions have decimated Earth, and Cassie has survived them all. But, now in the 5th wave, she has to find her brother but must also escape from Them: beings who look exactly like humans and kill everyone they see. 

So, the rule: trust no one. 

But, she meets Evan, who might be her only hope for finding her brother and saving herself. But what happens when she trusts him?


Cinder by Marissa Meyer

15. Cinder by Marissa Meyer

A cyborg Cinderella in a futuristic, alternate New Beijing? We’re here for it, Marissa Meyer. 

The story is centered on Cinder, a cyborg (almost half robot) and mechanic who has a mysterious past. There’s a deadly disease killing thousands of people, and the country is doing an “experimentation” to find the cure. Then, there’s also a war brewing against the Lunar people. 

Back to Cinder, one of her stepsisters gets infected, and her stepmother blames her for it. But, everything changes when Prince Kai steps into Cinder’s shop to have his android fixed. She falls in love, finds herself in the middle of multiple intrigues, and discovers her past that might save her world. 

If you love retellings and sci-fi and dystopia, then you have to check this out. 


Looking for more great books?

Find more binge-worthy books beyond the dystopian category. Here’s a list of must-reads for you: 20 Best YA Fantasy Romance Books You Can’t Stop Reading.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.