10 Books Like From Blood and Ash by Jennifer L. Armentrout

Books Like From Blood and Ash

Jennifer L. Armentrout has been a household name amongst paranormal romance-lovers over the last few years, both for Young Adult and New Adult readers, but her latest series, From Blood and Ash skyrocketed into an unexpected success when the first book released in 2020.

That overnight fame just grew further with the second book, and by the time of the publication of the third, countless special editions have been released into the world.

Jennifer recently released a spin-off: A Shadow in the Ember in September 2021; and The War of Two Queens, book 4 in the series in March 2022.

The success of From Blood and Ash is partially thanks to its uniqueness: JLA took all elements of PNR and placed them in a rich, carefully crafted fantasy world, spiced them with stakes of epic proportions and brewed them together into something explicitly delicious. Couple that with the enemies to lovers romance, and you’ll be turning pages into the wee hours of the night.

So the question naturally occurs: what to read after you’ve finished all Jennifer L. Armentrout’s books in order? What can possibly compare to this paranormal fantasy-romance? While it would be hard to find vampires in fantasy worlds the same way as they appear in Blood and Ash, there are quite a few fantasy-romances and romantic fantasies that fans of this series would also enjoy.

Here’s a list of books like From Blood and Ash:

YA Books Like From Blood and Ash

I am usually not a fan of the new adult categorization—not because it doesn’t make sense, but mostly because people tend to think it’s a publisher-defined category while it is not.

But also because it can get quite ambiguous—in this case I want to make an exception and will try to split this list into YA and NA/Adult books. Some of them under YA turn into NA later on, so beware.

Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas

1. Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas

Feisty main character stabbing people? Check. Angsty romance? Check. Vast world-building? Check. Empire-shattering stakes? Check.

Sarah J Maas’s first series might start out with less spicy scenes and a lot slower build up to the epic romance than From Blood and Ash, but it makes up for it in the later books.

This one definitely has YA to NA progression.

Filled with shape-shifting fae, terrifying evils from a parallel word, a large cast of complex characters with their own story-line, and yes, their own romantic arc, this seven-book epic fantasy should keep you occupied while waiting for the next book by Jennifer L. Armentrout.

Did you know that there are 2 ways to read Throne of Glass in order?


An Ember in the Ashes by Sabaa Tahir


2. An Ember in the Ashes by Sabaa Tahir

While an Ember in the Ashes fits the YA category more than most other books on this list, it doesn’t detract from its awesomeness. There are no explicit scenes in this one, but there’s plenty of deep, heart-wrenching romance wrapped in a complex, epic fantasy, set in a world very different from the traditional fantasy settings.

Sabaa Tahir’s writing is beautiful, lyrical and takes you to a cruel world, where our strong-hearted main character must find a way to escape and fight against the horrors inflicted on her people by an oppressing empire. She teams up with the enemy who turns out to be just as tired of the violence as she is.

With four books and plenty of heartbreak, this series is perfect if you’re looking for books like From Blood and Ash.


Graceling by Kristin Cashore, Books like From Blood and Ash


3. Graceling by Kristin Cashore

Katia is a graceling, and her grace grants her a special talent at killing. And as a member of the royal family, this talent defines her life as the king’s personal thug. That is, until she meets Prince Po.

Graceling is full of romance, evocative prose, with a strong-willed heroine and secrets that could shatter their world. 


Kingdom of the Wicked by Kerri Maniscalco


4. Kingdom of the Wicked by Kerri Maniscalco

Our next book like From Blood and Ash is Kingdom of the Wicked.

When her twin sister is murdered, the witch Emilia would do anything to find the killer. Including summoning a Prince of Hell. When she realizes that she must work with the insufferable Wrath, Emilia teams up with him behind her family’s back to avenge her sister. What she didn’t expect is to fall for the Wicked she’s been warned against since she was a little girl. 

Kingdom of the Wicked is a YA novel with excellent plot and romance, while the sequel—expected to arrive in October this year—is promised to be New Adult with a lot of spice. In the underworld. What else could we need?


Serpent & Dove by Shelby Mahurin, Books similar to From Blood and Ash

5. Serpent & Dove by Shelby Mahurin

An arranged marriage between a witch and a witch hunter. Do you even need more than that?

While it has less of the paranormal romance tropes than FBAA, it compares well with its romantic focus and vast world-building that’s different from the usual fantasy worlds.

Serpent & Dove has everything you need for an angsty fantasy-romance.


New Adult and Adult books like From Blood and Ash

The Bridge Kingdom by Danielle L. Jensen, Books like From Blood and Ash


6. The Bridge Kingdom by Danielle L. Jensen

Lara and her sisters were raised in the desert, hidden from the world, for only one purpose: one of them must marry the king of their greatest enemy, uncover the secrets of the bridge, find a way to infiltrate it and invade the Bridge Kingdom. So when their father, the king, arrives to choose the girl who will execute his plans, and he also wants to silence any potential witnesses, Lara takes her fate into her own hands.

While Lara and Poppy were raised with very different mindsets, they share a few things: they were both raised with a single purpose and had little choice in the direction of their lives. They both start out believing the world is the way they were told without experiencing any of it themselves.

This fast-paced enemies to lovers book has plenty going for it: a strong heroine with knives, a charming and determined king, hot and angsty romance and masterfully crafted political intrigue that will keep you from putting it down.

The Bridge Kingdom by Danielle L. Jensen is perfect for fans of Jennifer L. Armentrout looking for more books like From Blood and Ash.


A Promise of Fire, Books like From Blood and Ash


7. A Promise of Fire by Amanda Bouchet

Cat is avoiding her foretold destiny by hiding in a circus. That is until Griffin, the warlord, finds her and tries to turn her into the Kingmaker she’s always meant to be, and use her as a weapon. But soon Griffin realises he needs Cat, and not just for her magic. Cat fights him, but we all know how this has to end: she cannot resist him forever.

This completed new adult romantic fantasy trilogy is sure to keep you entertained for a time, starting with the first book A Promise of Fire.


Rhapsodic by Laura Thalassa


8. Bargainer series by Laura Thalassa

This series is often compared to A Court of Thorns and Roses by SJM, and that comparison is more than enough to qualify as an epic fantasy-romance.

While this series starts out in a world similar to ours, it transports you to the realm of the fae, where Callie must help Desmond, the charming and irresistible fae king, to save his kingdom. Elements of fantasy and paranormal romance with a lot of spice can be expected from this new adult trilogy.

The first book of the completed trilogy is Rhapsodic. 


Stand-Alones similar to From Blood and Ash by JLA

Uprooted by Naomi Novik

9. Uprooted by Naomi Novik

Uprooted is a dark fairytale with high stakes, interesting and complex characters who come across as real human beings. While romance isn’t the primary focus of this book, it is present and beautifully written, and a perfect way to pass the time with a well wrapped up stand-alone that will leave the readers enchanted.


A Deal with the Elf King Elise Kova


10. A Deal with the Elf King by Elise Kova

For a quick NA fantasy romance, A Deal with the Elf King is the perfect choice.

The title tells the premise: the elf king needs a wife, and he takes what he needs from the human realm. But when Luella is taken to be the Human Queen, she learns that their world is dying, and she is the only one who can save it.

Hades and Persephone meets Beauty and the Beast in this stand-alone filled with slow-burn but steamy romance.

While I list this book as a stand-alone, more books are expected in this series, but each book is a separate, independent story with different main characters. The second book—also stand-alone fantasy romance, set in the same world—A Dance with the Fae Prince is also available to devour now.


Bonus: Spicy LGBT fantasy romance

Captive Prince by C.S. Pacat

11. Captive Prince by C.S. Pacat

Strictly adult, not just because of the explicit scenes, but also hard themes and actions, while also highly controversial, the Captive Prince is definitely not for everyone. But if you’re after something further on the adult side, it might be just the book for you.

Damen is a warrior prince, but when his brother takes the throne, he’s stripped of his title and sold as a pleasure slave to the prince of the enemy. Soon Damen realises that he must work with his new master to save his own country while keeping his identity a secret. Because if the man he needs finds out who he is, then both his heart and his plans will shatter.

Looking for more great books like From Blood and Ash?

While House of Earth and Blood by Sarah J Maas is a little heavier on the action—and monster-hunting—side, these books like Crescent City might also be good picks to sate your From Blood and Ash cravings. Temporarily.

One thought on “10 Books Like From Blood and Ash by Jennifer L. Armentrout

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.