Robert Langdon Books in Order by Dan Brown

The Robert Langdon books in order by Dan Brown are an international adventure of mystery, intrigue, and discovery. Brown’s writing explores the relationship between science and religion. He writes mysteries that span centuries and take place all around the globe.

Readers love the Robert Langdon books for the way that Brown sprinkles clues and symbols throughout his novels which build to an epic conclusion. He also creates a captivating alternative history in his writing. This allows him total control over how to bring lore to reality and move the pieces of the puzzle together.

For example, the The Da Vinci Code revolves around the search for the Holy Grail. But in Angels & Demons, Robert Langdon, a professor of symbology and religious iconology, finds himself racing against the Illuminati.

Langdon’s adventures find him unravelling mysteries from Switzerland to Paris to Washington and beyond.

Robert Langdon Books in Order

Robert Langdon Books in Order of Publication

If the movies were your first introduction to these books by Dan Brown, then the below order of publication may look different to you. That’s because the books were adapted out of order.

As a result, many people were first introduced to Robert Langdon in The Da Vinci Code. This is also reflective of how the books gained popularity too.

While the first book in order of publication and chronologically is Angels & Demons, it was The Da Vinci Code which brought Brown international fame and recognition. So much so, that the Robert Langdon series is commonly referred to as The Da Vinci Code series now.

It is possible to read these books in any order and enjoy the mystery as each novel contains its own self-contained plot. That said, if you wish to read the books in the order that Brown intended, you should follow the publication order.

In December 2022, Brown confirmed he is working on a sixth Robert Langdon book. There has not yet been an official announcement. But if you’d like to learn more about everything he has written, you can check out our Dan Brown Books in Order article.

  1. Angels & Demons (2000)
  2. The Da Vinci Code (2003)
  3. The Lost Symbol (2009)
  4. Inferno (2013)
  5. Origin (2017)

If you’re looking for more books that are full of history, thrills, and secrets, then you should read the Steve Berry Books in Order.