All 3 Little Women Books in Order by Louisa May Alcott

The Little Women books by Louisa May Alcott are an iconic coming-of-age tale. Although it was published in the nineteenth-century, the March family continues to resonate with millions of readers. Little Women can be read as a standalone, but the sequels should not be read before the first book.

Little Women Books in Order

Little Women Books in Order

The first book in the Little Women series is by far the most well-known and it is necessary reading to understand the two sequels. Louisa May Alcott introduces the March family in Little Women with the beloved sisters, Jo, Beth, Meg, and Amy. While the book takes place with the Civil War in the background of their New England homestead, it is a story about so much more.

Alcott explores the definition of family with the heartbreak and love that comes with familial ties. She explores various forms of self-fulfilment and the journey to find one’s own identity.

Alcott explores timeless themes with an intimate familiarity because she based Little Women on her own life and upbringing. This is one of the reasons why this story has withstood the test of time and remains such a beloved favourite.

  1. Little Women (1868)
  2. Little Men (1871)
  3. Jo’s Boys (1886)

Little Women was first published in two volumes with the second volume also being titled Good Wives. This is why you may see that title attributed to Louisa May Alcott. However, the volumes have been collected into one volume that is widely available now.

The second book in the series introduces the next generation as they embark on their own coming-of-age journey. Then, finally, Alcott returns to the March family and the next generation ten years after the conclusion of Little Men with her third book, Jo’s Boys.

If you’re looking for more historical fiction books, check out our list of Jane Austen Books in Order.