Eragon Books in Order by Christopher Paolini (Inheritance Cycle)

Whether you read Eragon as a child and are looking to reread the series, or are brand new to the Inheritance Cycle, we’re here to help with a list of the Eragon books in order.

Christopher Paolini wrote Eragon at the age of 15 and went on to become the youngest best-selling author according to the Guinness Books of World Records.

Eragon was initially self-published in 2002 before the Alfred A. Knopf picked it up and republished it in 2003, then subsequently published the rest of the Inheritance Cycle.

In 2006, 20th Century Fox produced a movie adaptation of Eragon that received horrible reviews. So bad that members of my Facebook group, YA Fantasy Addicts, voted it the worst book to movie adaptation of all time.

After Disney’s acquisition of 20th Century Fox, rumors grew that Disney was considering a reboot of the series. That is, until August 2021 when Christopher Paolini announced that Disney was no longer looking to reboot it…at least for now. Time will tell whether an Eragon 2 or a remake of the whole series will appear in the future.

As far as the books are concerned, the Eragon reading order is pretty simple, so let’s get on with a list of all of the Eragon books in order.

Eragon Books in Order

The following is a list of the Eragon books in order of Publication:

  1. Eragon (2002)
  2. Eldest (2005)
  3. Brisingr (2008)
  4. Inheritance (2011)

Companion Books

Summary of the Eragon Books in Order

Below is a brief look at each of the Inheritance Cycle books.

Eragon Books in Order Christopher Paolini

1. Eragon (2002)

When fifteen-year-old Eragon finds a polished blue stone in the forest, he thinks it is the lucky discovery of a poor farm boy. But when the stone brings a dragon hatchling, Eragon soon realizes he has stumbled upon a legacy nearly as old as the Empire itself.

Overnight his simple life is shattered, and, gifted with only an ancient sword, a loyal dragon, and sage advice from an old storyteller, Eragon is soon swept into a dangerous tapestry of magic, glory, and power. Now his choices could save—or destroy—the Empire.

Eldest by Christopher Paolini

2. Eldest (2005)

Darkness falls…despair abounds…evil reigns…

Eragon and his dragon, Saphira, have just saved the rebel state from destruction by the mighty forces of King Galbatorix.

Now Eragon must travel to Ellésmera, land of the elves, for further training in the skills of the Dragon Rider: magic and swordsmanship. But chaos and betrayal plague him at every turn, and nothing is what it seems. Before long, Eragon doesn’t know whom he can trust.

Will the king’s dark hand strangle all resistance? Eragon may not escape with even his life. . . .

Brisingr Eragon Books in Order

3. Brisingr (2008)

Oaths sworn . . . loyalties tested . . . forces collide. 

Eragon is the greatest hope to rid the land of tyranny. Can this once simple farm boy unite the rebel forces and defeat the king? Following the colossal battle against the Empire’s warriors, Eragon and his dragon, Saphira, have narrowly escaped with their lives.

Still, there is more adventure at hand for the Rider and his dragon, as Eragon finds himself bound by a tangle of promises he may not be able to keep.

When unrest claims the rebels and danger strikes from every corner, Eragon must make choices-choices that will take him across the Empire and beyond, choices that may lead to unimagined sacrifice.

Inheritance Cycle Books in Order Christopher Paolini

4. Inheritance (2011)

Not so very long ago, Eragon—Shadeslayer, Dragon Rider—was nothing more than a poor farm boy, and his dragon, Saphira, only a blue stone in the forest. Now the fate of an entire civilization rests on their shoulders.

Long months of training and battle have brought victories and hope, but they have also brought heartbreaking loss. And still, the real battle lies ahead: they must defeat Galbatorix. There will be no second chances.

The Rider and his dragon have come further than anyone dared to hope. But can they topple the evil king and restore justice to Alagaësia? And if so, at what cost?

Eragon's Guide to Alagaesia

Eragon’s Guide to Alagaësia

Alagaësia comes alive in a lush and detailed look at an unforgettable magical land. From elves, dwarves, Urgals, humans, and dragons, to the natural landscape and the magic it contains, Eragon himself offers the reader an unsurpassed tour.

This oversized, full-color book provides 15 spreads chock full of spectacular artwork, engaging novelty elements, and fascinating insights into Eragon’s home.

With gorgeous jewels adorning the cover and pages filled with envelopes, gatefolds, samples of dragon skin, and more, Eragon’s Guide to Alagaësia is sure to appeal to the legions of fans of Christopher Paolini’s bestselling Inheritance cycle.

Looking for more books in order?

Now that we’ve listed out all the Eragon books in order, check out this list of the Cinder books in order.

One thought on “Eragon Books in Order by Christopher Paolini (Inheritance Cycle)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *