15 Books Like Percy Jackson You Won’t Be Able to Put Down

Books Like Percy Jackson

Rereading the Percy Jackson series for the nth time is never a bad idea. But, if you’d like to explore more books like Percy Jackson, we’ve got you covered!

Percy Jackson & the Olympians series is middle-grade literature, but I read it as an adult, and I felt sorry for my younger self for not picking this book up sooner! 

The series is highly addictive, fun, and entertaining. Millions of fans have loved the brave, cracking Percy Jackson, epic quests and battles, ruthless mythological creatures, surprising plot twists, and hilarious Greek mythology allusions.

So, here are 15 more books just like that! Enjoy these 15 binge-worthy books like Percy Jackson.

Books Similar to Percy Jackson from Riordan’s bookshelves

Rick Riordan is a household name for mythology fantasy series. If you want to read more of his works, this book list is what you’re looking for.

1. The Heroes of Olympus by Rick Riordan

In this exciting spin-off five-book series, you’ll see more of your old friends in the Percy Jackson & the Olympians series plus a new cast of main characters. 

According to a prophecy, seven demigods—half mortals, half-gods—will defend the world from the earth goddess Gaia, who seeks vengeance on the Olympian gods. 

But there’s a catch: some demigods are Greek, while others are Roman, and the two groups have long been at odds. They’ll have to fight together to resist Gaia and her army of giants and monsters.

Wondering where these books, and the ones to follow, fall into the Percy Jackson timeline? Check out this list of Percy Jackson books in order.


The Trials of Apollo Percy Jackson

2. The Trials of Apollo by Rick Riordan

We’ve met Apollo, the handsome, vain and arrogant, god of the sun in the Percy Jackson & the Olympians book series. Now, this pentalogy will be about him.

Apollo is cast down from Mt. Olympus, stripped of his godly powers (and looks), and becomes an average-looking mortal after he’s angered his father, Zeus. He has to find a way to regain his father’s favor, but his enemies—gods, monsters, and mortals, will be against him. He needs help, and there’s nowhere he can think of but the enclave of modern demigods, Camp Half-blood. 

Apollo himself will be narrating the series, and as you’d expect, it will be hilarious!


The Kane Chronicles by Rick Riordan

3. The Kane Chronicles by Rick Riordan

Explore Egyptian mythology with this series! 

Dr. Kane’s plan of bringing his children, Carter and Sadie, for a ‘research experiment’ in a British Museum had gone wrong, and he instead accidentally unleashes an evil god of Ancient Egypt. 

Now, Carter and Sadie embark on a terrifying quest to save their father. Later on, they discover they are descendants of the most powerful magicians. Only they can stop the god of chaos from destroying the world in five days.


Magnus Chase and the Gods of Asgard Percy Jackson

4. Magnus Chase and the Gods of Asgard by Rick Riordan

This series is Percy Jackson’s Norse mythology version. 

Magnus Chase is a troubled young boy. He’s been living alone on the streets of Boston since his mother’s mysterious death, surviving by his wits. Until one day, his uncle, whom he barely knows, tells him an impossible secret: Magnus is the son of a Norse god.

Magnus needs to search the Nine Worlds for a weapon that has been missing for thousands of years to prevent Ragnarok. But, when fire giants attack him, Magnus is forced to choose between his own safety and hundreds of innocent lives; he makes a fatal decision.


Mythology Books Like Percy Jackson

There are books similar to Percy Jackson that explore other mythologies, and you can start with this list.

Akata Witch by Nnedi Okorafor

5. Akata Witch by Nnedi Okorafor

Akata Witch has been dubbed “the Nigerian Harry Potter” because it weaves a beautiful tale of magic, mystery, and searching for one’s place in the world. 

The story follows Sunny, a 12-year-old girl with albinism born in America who now lives in Nigeria. She struggles to fit in until she learns she possesses magical abilities and joins a group of students on a quest for knowledge. 

Reading this book will allow you to explore myths, magic, and other cultural tokens of traditional African tribes. It’s a fascinating read for all ages and is perfect for fans of both Harry Potter and Percy Jackson books.


Aru Shah and the End of Time by Roshani Chokshi

6. Aru Shah and the End of Time by Roshani Chokshi

This is another series you would not want to miss. 

Aru Shah, a 12-year-old girl, tends to make up stories about a fantasy life to fit in at school. So when she tells her three friends that the Lamp of Bharata in their family’s museum is cursed, they want her to prove it. 

But lighting the lamp has terrible consequences, and she ends up freeing an ancient demon that awakens the god of destruction. Now, she has to stop the demon. But how is one girl in Spiderman pajamas supposed to find the reincarnations of the five legendary Pandava brothers and journey through the Kingdom of Death?


Thrones and Bones Frostborn Books Like Percy Jackson

7. Thrones and Bones: Frostborn by Lou Anders

In this adventure-filled, Viking-inspired series, we meet Karn and Thianna. 

Karn is a young boy who’d rather play the board game Thrones and Bones than help in their family farm, and Thianna is a half-human, half-giantess. 

When family intrigues happen, they are forced to flee to the wilderness and team up to survive a 1, 500-year-old dragon, Helltoppr the undead warrior and his undead minions, an evil uncle, wyverns, and different kinds of trolls and giants. They embark on unknown territory to save their families from harm.


Tristan Strong Punches a Hole in the Sky by Kwame Mbalia

8. Tristan Strong Punches a Hole in the Sky by Kwame Mbalia

Bestselling author Rick Riordan introduces Tristan Strong Punches a Hole in the Sky epic fantasy series that explores African mythology. 

Seventh-grader Tristan Strong feels terribly weak when he’s failed to save his best friend in a bus crash, and all he’s left of him is his journal. He is then sent to his grandfather’s farm in Alabama to recover, but on the first night, a creature steals his best friend’s journal. 

As he wrestles the journal away from the creature’s hands, he punches a tree and unwittingly creates a hole into the Midpass. Tristan finds himself in the midst of a battle between ancient African gods and gods of African-American. 

If you love Percy Jackson, you’ll be fond of Tristan, too, who is often unsure of himself, a relatable and flawed protagonist than most.


The Storm Runner by J.C. Cervantes

9. The Storm Runner by J.C. Cervantes

As far as books like Percy Jackson go, The Storm Runner is a story about a young boy who has a disability that is tied to a family secret and his connection to the Maya gods.

The Storm Runner follows Zane, a middle schooler, who spends most of his time exploring a dormant volcano near his home, which, little did he know, is a gateway to another world. One day, a mysterious girl tells him he is destined to release an evil god from the volcano, and that’s when all sort of craziness ensues. 

He is thrust into an all-out war between gods, and one of them happens to be his father. For him to survive, Zane has to become the Storm Runner. 

The Storm Runner is sure to fill the void after Percy Jackson with its epic quest, feisty heroes, and murderous demons.


Exciting Adventure Books Like Percy Jackson

There’s never a shortage of great fantasy books. Here’s that book list for you.

An Epic Series of Failures Books Like Percy Jackson

10. An Epic Series of Failures by Chris Rylander

Here’s an incredible book series packed with action and humor for Percy Jackson fans from bestselling author Chris Rylander. 

Greg Belmont has always been content with being ordinary until he learns he is a fantastical Drawf. The world of magic is back, and so is the ancient feud between Elves and Dwarves. 

Now, mythical creatures are wreaking havoc on earth, and to make matters worse, Edwin, Greg’s former best friend, and his Elven army are planning to steal all the world’s magic supply. Greg goes on a perilous journey to prevent an all-out war with his talking ax and awesome new friends.


Harry Potter by J.K Rowling

11. Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone by J.K Rowling

We can’t complete this booklist without mentioning Harry Potter, can we?

Harry Potter is a sensation and has made millions of readers forever obsessed with it. Much like Percy Jackson, Harry Potter is an orphan, living a difficult life, until one day he discovers he’s a wizard and goes off to Hogwarts School of Witchcraft and Wizardry. He will fight the most powerful dark lord of the universe. 

Harry Potter is much more than a book. It’s an experience of exciting adventure, magic, and friendship that has changed the culture and made generations of readers.

If you’d like to take a deeper dive into Harry Potter beyond the main 7 books in the series, check out this list of all 20+ Harry Potter books in order.


The Wingfeather Saga Books like Percy Jackson

12. The Wingfeather Saga by Andrew Peterson

The Wingfeather Saga is a tale of an exciting adventure filled with themes about family, self-sacrifice, and defeating evil. 

We follow the story of three Igiby children, Janner, Kalmar, and Leeli, who live in Aerwiar, a world similar to ours, except there’s no electricity and gun powder. It has all sorts of creepy creatures, like sea dragons and toothy cows. 

They are about to discover that their ordinary little town is anything but ordinary. And that their family is in the center of a huge mystery that’ll alter their lives forever.


Artemis Fowl Eion Colfer

13. Artemis Fowl by Eion Colfer

Artemis Fowl, a twelve-year-old millionaire, genius, and criminal mastermind, has discovered a world beneath the earth filled with armed and dangerous — and extremely high-tech — fairies. To restore his family’s fortune, he kidnaps one of them, Holly Short, and holds her for ransom. 

But, he doesn’t know what he’s got into. These are no fairy tale fairies — is he about to start a war between species?

Artemis Fowl is a great classic packed with action, magic, adventure, and humor, plus it’s an eight-book series, so it’ll keep you entertained for a good long while.

If you’d like to learn more about Artemis Fowl and Eion Colfer, check out this list of Artemis Fowl books in order.


The Land of Stories by Chris Colfer

14. The Land of Stories by Chris Colfer

In the Land of Stories, we follow the twins, Alex and Conner, who are transported in the land of fairy tales through a mysterious treasured fairy-tale book their grandmother has given them. They’ll discover that the stories they knew so well haven’t ended in this magical land. 

They have to return home, but with witches, wolves, goblins, and trolls alike in their way, going back home is harder than they thought.  

The Land of Stories is a fun read full of magic and fast-paced adventure.


Gregor the Overlander Books Like Percy Jackson

15. Gregor the Overlander by Suzanne Collins

Bestselling author Suzanne Collins is best known for her Hunger Games series, but she’s also written thrilling middle-grade fantasy series. 

Gregor the Overlander is like Alice in Wonderland, except that he didn’t find a tea party down the hole but a dark Underland where spiders, rats, cockroaches coexist uneasily with humans. 

The story is set in the dark world beneath New York City about a young boy named Gregor who finds himself in the middle of a war, and his arrival is not an accident. The prophecy foretells he has a role to play in the Underland’s future, but he doesn’t want the job until he realizes it is closely tied to his father’s disappearance. 

He embarks on a dangerous journey that’ll change him and the Underland forever.


Looking for more great book lists?

Those who love Percy Jackson can find more fantasy books that’ll make you flip pages through the late hours of the night in this book list 15 Books Like Harry Potter by J.K. Rowling.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.