The Mortal Instruments Books in Order by Cassandra Clare

Cassandra Clare’s debut novel was the first of The Mortal Instruments books in order and the beginning of the much larger Shadowhunter universe. Since Clare’s books take place in the same setting, there are multiple ways to read this series, but we’ll begin with the most straightforward which is in order of publication.

The Mortal Instruments Books in Order

The Mortal Instruments Books in Order of Publication

This reading order will have you follow along with the same cast of characters for its duration. You’ll be introduced to Clary Fray as she encounters Shadowhunters and demons for the first time. It is the best introduction to this world.

However, there are two distinct arcs within these six books. The second arc begins with the fourth novel: City of Fallen Angels.

  1. City of Bones (2007)
  2. City of Ashes (2008)
  3. City of Glass (2009)
  4. City of Fallen Angels (2011)
  5. City of Lost Souls (2013)
  6. City of Heavenly Fire (2014)

Cassandra Clare’s Recommendation for Shadowhunter Books

While the above list is the publication order for the books which fall only into The Mortal Instruments series, Clare has a slightly different recommended reading order for the whole world. Below you will find the books in the order that Clare recommends readers experience her novels.

The Mortal Instruments

  1. City of Bones
  2. City of Ashes
  3. City of Glass

The Infernal Devices

  1. Clockwork Angel
  2. Clockwork Prince
  3. Clockwork Princess

The Mortal Instruments, Continued

  1. City of Fallen Angels
  2. City of Lost Souls
  3. City of Heavenly Fire

The Bane Chronicles
The Shadowhunter’s Codex
Tales from the Shadowhunter Academy

The Dark Artifices

  1. Lady Midnight
  2. Lord of Shadows
  3. Queen of Air and Darkness

Ghosts of the Shadow Market

The Eldest Curses

  1. The Red Scrolls of Magic
  2.  The Lost Book of the White
  3. The Black Volume of the Dead (TBA)

The Last Hours

  1. Chain of Gold
  2. Chain of Iron
  3. Chain of Thorns

If you’d like to know a little bit more about some alternative ways you can read the books in the Shadowhunter universe, you can check out our parent article, Cassandra Clare Books in Order.