The Last Hours Books in Order by Cassandra Clare

The Last Hours books are the most recently published by Cassandra Clare which take place within the larger Shadowhunter world. It is another prequel of sorts that dives into the ancestors of characters Clare has already written.

The Last Hours Books in Order

The Last Hours Books in Order of Publication

The first book, Chains of Gold, begins in 1903 and follows the ancestors of characters in The Dark Artifices trilogy. It is not necessary to read that trilogy first to understand the story in Last Hours, but it is recommended.

That is because there will be subtle references that will make more sense and take on deeper meaning if you have read the books that Clare published before this series. It will offer a better reading experience if you understand more of this world.

  1. Chain of Gold (2020)
  2. Chain of Iron (2021)
  3. Chain of Thorns (2023)

Cassandra Clare’s Recommendation for Shadowhunter Books

If you follow Cassandra Clare’s recommendation for how to read the world she created, that will have you read The Last Hours books last after you’ve read the rest of the Shadowhunter universe. This is the best reading order because it will not spoil anything from the other books.

The Mortal Instruments

  1. City of Bones
  2. City of Ashes
  3. City of Glass

The Infernal Devices

  1. Clockwork Angel
  2. Clockwork Prince
  3. Clockwork Princess

The Mortal Instruments, Continued

  1. City of Fallen Angels
  2. City of Lost Souls
  3. City of Heavenly Fire

The Bane Chronicles
The Shadowhunter’s Codex
Tales from the Shadowhunter Academy

The Dark Artifices

  1. Lady Midnight
  2. Lord of Shadows
  3. Queen of Air and Darkness

Ghosts of the Shadow Market

The Eldest Curses

  1. The Red Scrolls of Magic
  2.  The Lost Book of the White
  3. The Black Volume of the Dead (TBA)

The Last Hours

  1. Chain of Gold
  2. Chain of Iron
  3. Chain of Thorns

If you want to learn more about the world that Clare has created before, you can read our article about all the Cassandra Clare Books in Order.