The Infernal Devices Books in Order by Cassandra Clare

After Cassandra Clare wrote the first three books of her popular The Mortal Instruments series, she decided to visit an earlier era in the Shadowhunter world with The Infernal Devices books in order.

It is not necessary to read The Mortal Instruments before The Infernal Devices, but it will enhance your reading experience. That’s because you will recognize certain characters as the ancestors of your favorite Mortal Instruments characters.

The Infernal Devices Books in Order

The Infernal Devices Books in Order of Publication

Clockwork Angel begins in 1878 amidst a magical version of Victorian England. It follows its own storyline, so you are able to read the trilogy on its own if you wish.

  1. Clockwork Angel (2010)
  2. Clockwork Prince (2011)
  3. Clockwork Princess (2013)

Cassandra Clare’s Recommendation for Shadowhunter Books

However, if you would like to read The Infernal Devices books within the larger framework of the Shadowhunter universe, Cassandra Clare has created a recommended reading order. You will find her recommendation below.

The Mortal Instruments

  1. City of Bones
  2. City of Ashes
  3. City of Glass

The Infernal Devices

  1. Clockwork Angel
  2. Clockwork Prince
  3. Clockwork Princess

The Mortal Instruments, Continued

  1. City of Fallen Angels
  2. City of Lost Souls
  3. City of Heavenly Fire

The Bane Chronicles
The Shadowhunter’s Codex
Tales from the Shadowhunter Academy

The Dark Artifices

  1. Lady Midnight
  2. Lord of Shadows
  3. Queen of Air and Darkness

Ghosts of the Shadow Market

The Eldest Curses

  1. The Red Scrolls of Magic
  2.  The Lost Book of the White
  3. The Black Volume of the Dead (TBA)

The Last Hours

  1. Chain of Gold
  2. Chain of Iron
  3. Chain of Thorns

You can learn more about each of these reading orders and everything else Clare has written by checking out our Cassandra Clare Books in Order.