The Eldest Curses Books in Order by Cassandra Clare

The Eldest Curses books are another Shadowhunters series by Cassandra Clare, but this one is co-written with Wesley Chu. However, this world has expanded so much — the first Shadowhunters book came out more than a decade before the first Eldest Curses novel — that it becomes more and more important to read the other books first.

While The Eldest Curses follows its own adventure, its characters first appear in The Mortal Instruments. That background and context is incredibly important to enjoy and understand the depth of this story.

The Eldest Curses Books in Order

The Eldest Curses Books in Order of Publication

If you begin by reading The Eldest Curses books, there will be spoilers for the previous series. However, below you will find the two books which have been published so far. While we have a title, there has not been a release date for the third book yet.

  1. The Red Scrolls of Magic (2019)
  2. The Lost Book of the White (2020)
  3. The Black Volume of the Dead (TBA)

Cassandra Clare’s Recommendation for Shadowhunter Books

One of the best ways to read the The Eldest Curses books then, is by following Cassandra Clare’s recommendation for the Shadowhunter world. Below you will find that reading order which includes every book that takes place in this universe.

The Mortal Instruments

  1. City of Bones
  2. City of Ashes
  3. City of Glass

The Infernal Devices

  1. Clockwork Angel
  2. Clockwork Prince
  3. Clockwork Princess

The Mortal Instruments, Continued

  1. City of Fallen Angels
  2. City of Lost Souls
  3. City of Heavenly Fire

The Bane Chronicles
The Shadowhunter’s Codex
Tales from the Shadowhunter Academy

The Dark Artifices

  1. Lady Midnight
  2. Lord of Shadows
  3. Queen of Air and Darkness

Ghosts of the Shadow Market

The Eldest Curses

  1. The Red Scrolls of Magic
  2.  The Lost Book of the White
  3. The Black Volume of the Dead (TBA)

The Last Hours

  1. Chain of Gold
  2. Chain of Iron
  3. Chain of Thorns

Finally, it can be helpful to understand the chronological timeline for a world and series that has grown to this extent. The below order is not a recommended reading order for first time readers of the series. about all the Cassandra Clare Books in Order.