The Dark Artifices Books in Order by Cassandra Clare

Following the success of The Mortal Instruments and The Infernal Devices series, Cassandra Clare wrote another trilogy which takes place in the Shadowhunter world. The Dark Artifices books are a trilogy that begins five years after the events of City of Heavenly Fire, the sixth Mortal Instruments novel.

It is not required to read the previous two series first, but it is recommended. That’s because characters from Mortal Instruments will appear throughout The Dark Artifices books, and you will read spoilers for the previous two series. The main storyline of Dark Artifices can stand on its own, but the overarching story throughout the world requires the two previous series for context.

The Dark Artifices Books in Order

The Dark Artifices Books in Order of Publication

The Dark Artifices books are all about the Shadowhunters of Los Angeles. The trilogy follows Emma Carstairs and Julian Blackthorn.

  1. Lady Midnight (2016)
  2. Lord of Shadows (2017)
  3. Queen of Air and Darkness (2018)

Cassandra Clare’s Recommendation for Shadowhunter Books

So, if you’re looking to read The Dark Artifices series within the larger framework of the Shadowhunter world, which is Cassandra Clare’s recommendation, below you will find that reading order.

The Mortal Instruments

  1. City of Bones
  2. City of Ashes
  3. City of Glass

The Infernal Devices

  1. Clockwork Angel
  2. Clockwork Prince
  3. Clockwork Princess

The Mortal Instruments, Continued

  1. City of Fallen Angels
  2. City of Lost Souls
  3. City of Heavenly Fire

The Bane Chronicles
The Shadowhunter’s Codex
Tales from the Shadowhunter Academy

The Dark Artifices

  1. Lady Midnight
  2. Lord of Shadows
  3. Queen of Air and Darkness

Ghosts of the Shadow Market

The Eldest Curses

  1. The Red Scrolls of Magic
  2.  The Lost Book of the White
  3. The Black Volume of the Dead (TBA)

The Last Hours

  1. Chain of Gold
  2. Chain of Iron
  3. Chain of Thorns

If you want to learn more about the Shadowhunter world and the multiple ways to read these books, check out our article about the Cassandra Clare Books in Order.