All 5+ Stormlight Archive Books in Order by Brandon Sanderson

The Stormlight Archive books are an epic fantasy series by Brandon Sanderson and are part of his larger Cosmere world. The series has a unique magic system, a brutal world, and captivating characters.

Cosmere Reading Order Stormlight Archive Brandon Sanderson

Sanderson has outlined that the series will span ten books split into two arcs. The final book in the first arc will be published in the second half of 2024, so now is the perfect time to catch up on the books in this series.

Stormlight Archive Books in Order of Publication

First Arc
1. The Way of Kings (2010)
2. Words of Radiance (2014)
2.5 Edgedancer (Novella) (2016)
3. Oathbringer (2017)
3.5 Dawnshard (Novella) (2020)
4. Rhythm of War (2020)
4.5 Horneater (Novella) (2024)
5. Knights of Wind and Truth (Expected: Fall 2024)

Stormlight Archive Books in Chronological Order

This second reading order is a supplemental guide to piece together some of the moving parts within the Cosmere.

The below list of books features all the crossover books from the Cosmere universe in which characters that feature in Stormlight also appear. However, most of these characters will introduce themselves with a different name in order to hide their identity.

We’ll use Sanderson’s recommended reading order to include the supplemental books. This frontloads most of the supplemental material ahead of Stormlight series and then we’ve included the Secret Projects at the end in publication order.

Again, it’s not necessary to read these extra books to understand the Stormlight Archive, but if you enjoy fan theories then you will thoroughly enjoy the Worldhopper character appearances.

  1. The Final Empire (Mistborn 1)
  2. The Well of Ascension (M2)
  3. Hero of Ages (M3)
  4. The Alloy of Law (M4)
  5. The Eleventh Metal (Mistborn Short Story)
  6. Shadows of Self (M5)
  7. The Bands of Mourning (M6)
  8. Mistborn: Secret History (Mistborn Novella)
  9. The Lost Metal (M7)
  10. The Way of Kings (Stormlight Archive 1)
  11. Warbreaker
  12. Words of Radiance (SA 2)
  13. Edgedancer (SA Novella)
  14. Oathbringer (SA 3)
  15. Dawnshard (SA Novella)
  16. Rhythm of War (SA 4)
  17. Tress and the Emerald Sea (Secret Project 1)
  18. Yumi and the Nightmare Painter (Secret Project 3)
  19. The Sunlit Man (Secret Project 4)
  20. Horneater (SA Novella) (2024)
  21. Knights of Wind and Truth (SA 5) (Expected: Fall 2024)

If you want to learn even more ways to read Brandon Sanderson’s Cosmere books, you can check out our Cosmere Reading Order.